We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyde Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B!”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife and I spent one night here and loved it. It's a beautiful home in the heart of Natchez. Our room was outstanding, complete with a large porch outside our second floor room. The owners were delightful and helpful, and yet very respectful of our privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast the next morning and met some fellow travelers who shared some great suggestions. Overall, we would highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the main house and were completely satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
204
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was our second time staying with Ron & Eleanor in Natchez. They made us feel like part of the family - everything was perfect, again. Ron recommended Pilgrimage to us during our first trip and we weren't disappointed - it was a truly great experience. If you want to relax, experience some great 18th/19th century history and be pampered, then we highly recommend Natchez and the Devereaux Shields House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This was the only B&B we stayed in on our US road trip and it made a nice change from impersonal hotels. We stayed in Aunt Clara's Cottage and our room was just fine, with a handy walk in closet. Ron and Eleanor are excellent hosts, providing a great breakfast over which we enjoyed chatting to other guests, comparing Southern and Aussie accents! The property is in a quiet street full of lovely homes, with plenty of eating options within 10 minutes walk. Be aware that the Natchez Visitor Centre is a longer walk and might be better to drive to, although downtown Natchez is as easy to drive around as it gets. This is an excellent base for visiting Natchez's many antebellum homes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were driving 1300 miles around the mid-South and got to stay in LOTS of different accomodations, and this was my absolutely favourite!

Based entirely on Tripadvisor reviews we deliberty chose to stay in Aunt Clara's Cottage - I had been waiting all trip to sit on a porch so this was it!

The welcome we received from Eleanor and Ron could not have been warmer. Eleanor took us up the road from the Devereux House to Aunt Clara's and showed us into the Elmo room, which was HUGE and beautifully appointed. Everything about the place was charming, homely, and lovely. I felt SO comfortable here. After so much driving this place was an oasis of calm.

It's not really walking distance to the various things worth seeing, but it's no biggie to drive everywhere and to find places to park.

Breakfast next day was delicious and both our hosts spent plenty of time on our arrival and in the morning of our departure answering all our questions about the history and background of the area. Oh, and there was free wifi in the house.

And I finally got to sit in a rocking chair on a porch as the sun went down. I loved every minute of it and only wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YBB811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The house was wonderful and very romantic. Our room, The Rose Suite, is the room for honeymooners. Very spacious, clean and with all the amenities. The chocolates, flowers and champagne was a very nice touch. The house is located within reasonable distance to downtown shopping and restaurants. Ron & Eleanor were more than gracious and felt like old friends. Eleanor's breakfast is to die for. I wish her all the luck with her prize winning French Toast in the upcoming magazine to which it will be featured in. They made us feel very welcome and at home. We will be back without a doubt. Thanks, Ron and Eleanor for EVERYTHING...hope to see you soon. Get that Rose Suite Ready!!!!!!! :)

Thanks,
Tommy and Tyra Favaron
Addis, La.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyraFavaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The owners were kind, and the stay there was a great introduction to the city. Ron, especially, was very helpful in recommending local restaurants and attractions. The restaurants we visited provided amazing flavors for a really good value and "ruined" us for visits in our restaurants back home. (We can't eat creme brulee at our local date spot anymore after having dessert at The Castle...) :o)

However, this wasn't our first bed and breakfast experience. We were (possibly) spoiled by our previous experience, where the inn keepers were VERY conscientious about attending to guests' special dietary concerns. We had high hopes after reading the list of hints for improving your B&B experience (on the website), but our heads-up about dietary concerns in the registration process seemed to have gone unnoticed. When we mentioned it after the first breakfast, the response was akin to, "Oh! You think what you had for breakfast TODAY was bad for you? Wait til you see what we're having for breakfast tomorrow! It'll be even worse for you!" (I sincerely hope this was just a misunderstanding, but it will definitely have to go into the memory file for the next visit...)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Deveraux Shields is a fantastic Bed and Breakfast in the wonderful Natchez.. Both Ron and Eleanor were very hospitable and sorted out a lovely restaurant for us on our night out. We also got good advice on the best historic anti bellum houses to visit - which were fabulous and very evocative of the era. We had a lovely Southern breafast on both days and met some very friendly and interesting guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
487 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#5 of 40 in Natchez
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing