We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devereaux Shields House
Ranked #4 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place, highly recommended”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My sister and I stayed here over the Fourth of July weekend and had a wonderful time. The Alice Room in Aunt Clara's Cottage was lovely, restful, and comfortable. Eleanor and Ron are kind and gracious hosts, and they got us checked in and out very efficiently. They are very knowledgeable about the restaurants and attractions in Natchez and gave us good advice about how to spend our time.

Breakfast was excellent - served promptly and plenty of it! It was a pleasure meeting the other guests over breakfast. The B&B is convenient to the sights of historic downtown (some within walking distance). Loved the Fourth of July fireworks up on the bluff!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukelagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    41
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
204
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2011

A friend and I arrived at Devereau Shields late afternoon on Fourth of July. Ron was so accomodating!
He got us tucked into Aunt Clara's cottage - Elmo room - and Eleanor recommended restaurants for dinner and told us where to get the best view of the fireworks over the Mississippi.
Elmo is a spacious room, comfy bed, silky sheets, and the fluffy towels in the large bath were most inviting. Breakfast with the other guests was a wonderful treat.
Throughout our stay, our hosts continued to check on us, advise and guide us. You can choose this B&B with confidence.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillBetty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollock, LA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My husband and I went to Natchez this weekend for a quiet break. We stayed at Aunt Clara's Cottage. The house is beautiful, the breakfast was incredible, and Ron and Elenor were absolutely wonderful to us. Thank y'all so much for making our stay comfortable and a great experience. We will definitely come and stay again!

Room Tip: Read the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gem1974_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

It's really hard for me to find hospitality options that know how to accomodate my required diet for Celiac Disease. Eleanor is an excellent cook w/ proper awareness and knowledge of how to keep the meal gluten free, and she went above and beyond what I asked for. I plan to travel back to Natchez for more get-a-ways with my husband, and I will only stay here. We were actually in the "Aunt Clara's Cottage" and we loved it. -Lynnette Molin

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamptonpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This was probably our favourite B&B/Hotel on our recent 4 week trip to the Southern States of America and that is saying something. We stayed in the Elmo room in Aunt Clara's Cottage just down the road from the main house. It is very quiet, clean, elegant and roomy with a large bathroom. The cottage is in a very good location. The first night we walked into the centre of Historic Natchez to eat at a lovely restaurant, Cotton Alley, and then walked back in the dark, no problem. After that we tended to use the car as we discovered that parking in Natchez is plentiful and free. We particularly enjoyed sitting out on the verandah, each morning before Eleanor called us in for breakfast and each evening before going out to eat. The breakfasts were excellent and Eleanor made me the first decent English cup of tea of our whole trip! She is an excellent hostess. For us she has the perfect balance - nothing is too much trouble for her but, at the same time, she doesn't overfuss, making it a comfortable and relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKLynneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Coming in from New Orleans, we sincerely appreciated just how quiet this place was. Slept exceptionally well on the giant bed in the Victorian room of Clara's Cottage. Great shower (always important). Wifi was a snap and I did not have to ask (I was a bit spaced from the drive). Would go back to stay in a minute.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erik_glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was our second time in Aunt Clara's Cottage, an appendage of Devereaux Shields B & B just down the block- - because we can bring our dog with us and stay there. It is a lovely, lovely cottage with 4 spacious bedrooms, each with bath. It has a wonderful porch to sit and read on, and the hosts, Ron and Eleanor, are the best. They tend to your every need and supply loads of information. The breakfasts are tasty and plentiful (the bowl of fresh fruit is a big plus), and the cottage is located right in the center of the small town. Walking around the area provides interesting architecture, and you can walk to several of the houses on the pilgrimmage from here. It is simply a delightful place to stay, no stairs for people with leg problems except up to the porch, and some of the best people you're going to run into in Natchez. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are tastefully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtoninarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
488 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#5 of 40 in Natchez
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devereaux Shields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devereaux Shields House

Property: Devereaux Shields House
Address: 709 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devereaux Shields House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a comfortable balance of peace, style, history and hospitality at the Devereaux Shields House conveniently located in the historic district of Natchez, Mississippi. Step into the past in 6 elegant rooms in our Victorian main house and charming Victorian Cottage. All rooms have private baths, great beds and a full Southern-style breakfast, free Internet, snacks & beverages. Enjoy Southern Hospitality at its Best – because it’s not what we do, it’s who we are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Devereaux Shields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing