We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A teriffic stay, an enjoyable surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A teriffic stay, an enjoyable surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I were planning to pass through Natchez on our way north, and when I reviewed the town, and decided that it needed more of our time and attention. Boy was this correct! Natchez is filled with history, beautiful antebellum mansions, and Neil is a wealth of information about it all. he is a charming host, a witty conversationalist, and a great cook. He takes great pride in his wonderfully restored home, and the energy that he brings to this endeavor shines through. We loved sitting on the balconey upstairs, watching the boats float by on the Mississippi River. A delightful stay filled with history and a visit to a small, relaxing town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adiannaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
91
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This small inn features a great location on a bluff overlooking the Mighty Mississippi. From the front door, there is a promenade along the river to the center of Natchez, great for walkers and photographers. I stayed on the second floor, south bedroom. Two rooms share a kitchenette, living room space, and balcony overlooking the river. Neil was a great host and, as others have mentioned, serves up a wonderful breakfast. He is a wealth of information about the area but is conversant on many topics. Interesting guy. I would describe the place as more funky than four-star, but highly recommend it. Only complaint (and a small one) he accepts only cash or check.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patagonia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed with Neil in October 2013 and we were both extremely impressed by all aspects of the property and the attention given to us by Neil. He is the most wonderful and charming host and takes immense pride in maintaining his beautiful home in pristine condition.
The rooms, beds and lounge are very comfortable and his breakfasts are not to be missed whilst the views of the Mississippi are fantastic. We were so impressed that we will be visiting Neil again on our next trip in early 2015. This is a home from home and should not be missed when in Natchez.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

I wrote a review of Neil's B and B 9 years ago; my wife and I visited this time with another couple and it was just as we remembered - a great host in Neil, comfortable rooms with an incredible view of the Mississippi, and a fun/historic town to visit in Natchez (especially during Pilgrimage). Neil makes a wonderful breakfast and treats his guests like old friends. Like I said before, for a tranquil "getaway" from the "everyday"... visit Bluff Top!

Room Tip: All of Neil's rooms are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PA_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mtn View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights could not be happier with our stay. Neil is a wonderful host who has a great sense of humor and he makes you feel right at home. Breakfast was different each morning and delicious! The B&B sits above the Mississippi River on the bluff so the view is spectacular and if you choose to walk to downtown you are close enough to do so. Thumbs up to Neil!

Room Tip: The Master Room downstairs is more private and also has a private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSMVAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

A very beautiful, lovingly, restored approx 125 year bluff top house on the Mississippi with wonderful views. comfortable rooms and baths, and wonderful breakfast. Neil is an excellent host who makes one feel very much at home. He really does an excellent job.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Two rooms have en suite br while next to the room on the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

It's simple - Bluff Top is the place to stay in Natchez. Wonderful view of Old Man Ribber, of course, and a beautiful home with reasonable prices, but Neil, our host, was the star. His breakfasts were simply wonderful.and he gave us great advice on places to visit while we were there to watch some movie work. We have thoughtful conversations and left having a new friend. We'll be back - and you should stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighwayBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.4 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
1888 Wensel House B&B
1888 Wensel House B&B
#7 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bluff Top Bed and Breakfast
Address: 205 Clifton Avenue, Natchez, MS 39120-2307
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bluff Top Hotel Natchez
Bluff Top b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing