We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can only tour one, pick this one.....”
Review of Rosalie Mansion

Rosalie Mansion
Ranked #5 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Daughters of the American Revolution and a unique collection of children's dolls and toys made from cloth and porcelain.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“If you can only tour one, pick this one.....”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and I were only going to be in Natchez a short time. Having never been there before, I was surprised to find out how much there is to see and do in the area. I wanted to tour one antbellum home and after asking on TA which one would be the most interesting to my husband, I chose Rosalie. We were not disappointed. The DAR ladies were in dressed in period costume and you could tell that they loved the home and its history. We both enjoyed the tour and the information given. Even though you can't take photos inside, you can take a picture of the view of the Mississippi River from the second floor, which is gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful and my husband loved the bell. We also enjoyed visiting the gift shop behind the home by the parking lot. The home is convenient for those passing through as it is not far from the Natchez Visitors Center at 640 South Canal Street by the bridge. That's where we bought our tickets....$15 each.....well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TexasNana57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    128
    37
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful insights into real family history”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our tour guide was knowledgeable and beautifully dressed in period costume. The house had its original furnishings very well restored and you felt like you had stepped back in time. The house itself is set in pretty gardens and is easy to find on the edge of town. Take in the walking tour of the town when you visit the house. Well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank spotty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Elegantly furnished riverside Antebellum mansion”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quiet, unshowy elegance marks this wonderful mansion which includes an antique piano and a harp which was played by one of the daughters. Rosalie was home for its owners before and after the Civil War. When Union soldiers used it as a headquarters after the war, they allowed the family to live upstairs, unlke at other places where owners were turned out of their homes. The tour was conducted by a very charming, knowledgeable lady who greatly enhanced our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A beautiful Mansion”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a romantic house with a romantic story. Please tour this house and hear the story. I left the tour, loving the story of how the Union General protected the owner's possessions. (that did not happen in many homes during the Civil War) It overlooks the Miss. River..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MommapMommap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going back in Time.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a wonderful home. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and was given a lovely narration on the history and events about the Mansion. Highly informative and would recommend this to all. A step back in time. The gardener also does a good job maintaining the grounds. Loved ringing the bell and yelling out, "The Yankees are coming".

Helpful?
Thank Mobydick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalie Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Rosalie Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing