We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic building and great pie”
Review of Mammy's Cupboard

Mammy's Cupboard
Ranked #16 of 94 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Iconic building and great pie”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Mammy's Cupboard is an architecturally and historically unique bit of the cultural landscape. It is a valuable reminder of stereotypes and racism. It is also a living place that continues to evolve. The family that operate it were warm and friendly, the food simple and delicious, and the pies were outstanding. Some people might prefer to see such anachronistic politically-incorrect vestiges of our troubled past simply wiped off the map. I prefer to see them as reminders of our past, how far we have come as a society, and how far we have to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrishPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    62
    31
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Weekend in Natchez”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

After visiting Natchez several times over the years, we, finally, paid a visit to Mammy's. It is truly a southern hospitality gem - homemade bread, soup and desserts. The staff was very friendly, food was tasty and the prices reasonable.

Save room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Saw Mammy's on a TV show and had to try it. Very interesting. Got there just after a busload of Senior Citizens had walked in. There was one table for two left and we took it. Fulled expected to be waiting an hour or more but we had our food in about 15 minutes. Unreal. Got to gabbing with some of the seniors (we're ONLY 62 and 69) and had a blast swapping travel stories.
The staff was very friendly, especially under the circumstances, and the food was very good. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Save Room for the Coconut Cream Pie!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our traveling group of 5 seniors (2 American, 3 British) set out to explore the Southern States this year. Mammy's Cupboard was on our list in Natchez and it didn't disappoint! We timed our arrival for the 11 am opening on the advice of other reviewers. It was spot on. The place had filled to capacity within 10 minutes. What a darling building, and such wonderful atmosphere! This is a true piece of Americana, and must be experienced by anyone traveling through this area.
We all ordered soup and sandwiches for our meal. Blueberry lemonade was served in old-style canning jars, and it was superb. The coconut cream pie and chocolate meringue pie were the desserts of choice by this group, and we each sampled both. MMMMM!!! I bought the very special cookbook which does include the pies as well as the blueberry lemonade. Mammy herself autographed my copy - just ask. Take a few moments afterwards to have a good look at the pictures, signs, and Mammy's original cornbread pan displayed on the walls. This is our kind of place - and we give it a solid 5 rating on all accounts.
NOTE: If you have your heart set on a certain dessert, then order it first as they run out quickly!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 16smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect Slice of Pie and Americana”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We only stopped here long enough to share a slice of chocolate meringue pie, which was divine. The big draw is really the unique building. Fans of roadside Americana and real southern cooking really must visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank linzrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mammy's Cupboard also viewed

 

Been to Mammy's Cupboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing