We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Had a Great Evening, You Will Too!!”
Review of Castle Restaurant

Castle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Castle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 94 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Durango, CO
Level Contributor
173 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We Had a Great Evening, You Will Too!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have eaten at the Castle Restaurant before and remembered to be a good place to go. We decided to go early on a Friday evening and go to Happy Hour at the Pub. The pub has a very welcoming, English Pub type atmosphere that seems to be frequented by locals. After a few drinks we went upstairs to the restaurant and were quickly seated. We were able to talk with the waitress some and that in itself was very enjoyable. We both ordered the Red Snapper which was prepared with Crawfish and a wonderful sauce. What a wonderful dinner. I most highly recommend the Castle Restaurant to anyone wanting a nice evening. We will return whenever we visit Natchez!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    105
    38
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great food, superb service, beautiful atmosphere! Have eaten here on several occasions. Food is consistently good and have never experienced bad service. Located on the grounds of a very popular antebellum bed and breakfast, Dunleith. However, it's not only the tourist that frequent the Castle. Upstairs formal dining room. Very cozy bar downstairs. Good wine list. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food on a cold winter night”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It was an unseasonably cold Monday night - our first in Natchez and there were very few restaurants open. One of the staff at our Inn recommended the Castle and I telephoned to check that they were open and to find out if they could accommodate our vegetarian daughter (who by this stage was getting rather fed up with the collection of side dishes that seems to constitute a vegetarian meal in much of the Southern USA). The girl who answered the phone was very helpful and said that the chef would sort something out. So 30 minutes later we arrived at the Castle, situated in the grounds of Dunleith house. It was a bit difficult to find the entrance in the dark and we actually entered via the tavern situated on the lower floor to be warmly greeted by the waitress I spoke with on the phone. We were shown to our table and soon thereafter the chef came out to talk with our daughter about her likes and dislikes before he returned to the kitchen to create a special meal just for her (fried artichoke hearts with grits in a creole-style sauce- absolutely delicious). The rest of our meals were equally good and the overall service was warm, attentive and generally excellent. Our waitress (Jasmine - I hope I have her name correct) was very good and looked after us very well, and I was impressed with the thought that the chef had given to our daughter's meal. At the end of our meal we were also given a voucher for a free tour of Dunleith House the next morning - an offer that we took up and enjoyed immensely. So overall a very enjoyable and welcome experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plus2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Might go back”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The food was average and the service was ok. The building was kind of neat. If you eat here you will get a first floor tour of Dunleith (which was closed to public). I would have loved to have seen all of Dunleith. Magnificent antebellum home!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not worth the time or money”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

we were here for 3 hours and the food was average. our waitress was nice and good, but her help was not. if you pay this much, i expect so much more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank btgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing