We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elgin Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$153
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlings Rest(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$79
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunleith(Natchez)
$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natchez Grand Hotel(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$109
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vue(Natchez)(Great Value!)
$87
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn(Natchez)
$148
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
34
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
3
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 37 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We went to Natchez to see our daughter perform in the Natchez Opera Festival-a month-long event held every May, now in its 19th year. We weren't sure where to stay and we were on a budget, so we found several B&Bs that looked interesting. Because our nephew and his wife were thinking of joining us, we needed a place with two rooms and we weren't crazy about the idea of being inside someone else's home. That's why Elgin Plantation was a perfect fit; it was a two story home, separate from the main house with three bedrooms, three bathrooms and a kitchen and large living and dining room, where a wonderful woman named Lizzie serves breakfast every morning. Lizzie has been with the Calhouns for 40 years and has not only helped raise the Calhoun's children, she's now helping with the children's children. She shared many pearls of wisdom with us over our three breakfasts together. She and Mrs. Calhoun even came to our daughter's musical performance and had our room stocked with programs from all 19 years of the festival so we could read up on the festival's history. She gave us a wonderful tour of her beautiful home and is a gentile southern lady who knows so much history about Natchez, we felt like we were back in the days of Gone with the Wind. She was such a gracious hostess and even offered us to stay another night as her guest! She brought us a bottle of wine and some snacks, too, which we enjoyed while sitting on the second floor balcony visiting. The Elgin Plantation is about 5-10 minutes from downtown Natchez, but it's a beautiful drive up a tree-lined street with its own private entrance. You'll awaken to the birds chirping and a breeze blowing through the door to your bedroom if you leave your door open. The only negative thing I can think of to say is that the bed in the two bedroom suite is very lumpy and needs replacing, but you could ask about that. We stayed in the first bedroom and the bed was fine. If you are looking for more nightlife, stay in town, but if you want to get away from it all away after a night in town, this is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TexasMusicMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

The Elgin Plantation was a wonderful experience! Ruth Ellen, the mistress of the home was a wonderful hostess and tour guide. Could have listened to her vast knowledge for hours. She was wonderful to direct us to a great dining experience at the "Cock of the Walk" restaurant in downtown Natchez. If you go, don't miss it. Lizzie, Mrs. Calhoon's right hand lady was a delight also, a wealth of knowledge, and southern hospitality, she also cooks up a great southern breakfast! Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catwagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

The Elgin B&B is a true southern experience. Mrs. Calhoun has been a Natchez resident since birth and can relate history and knowledge of Natchez dating many generations. She has a wondreful way of making you feel like family, not guests. Lizzie (cook, nanny, bookeeper, and friend to the Calhoun family for 40 years) is a treat to be around. She makes the stay in the B&B make you feel like you have been there many time before. Leave the downtown B&^Bs and go to the country and enjoy talking with the Calhouns and Lizzie. Our six adults found the bedrooms spacious yet cozy, and had plenty of room to spread out in the downstairs living room, Lizzie prepares a breakfast each morning at promptly 8:15 so that you can get started on your tour of homes. Enjoy the south, Natchez, the homes, and your stay at the Elgin. We certainly will when we return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SouthernGent174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Elgin is a perfect choice for overnight guests staying in Natchez, as it offers more than you expect without any of the pretense of some of the other historic properties in town. Mrs. Calhoun, the owner, was once the President of a local Garden Club, and her natural charm and gracious demeanor are what makes most guests anxious to return. I am an amateur historian and was in town for the Spring Pilgrimage; Elgin was recommended by another history buff and for that I am grateful. The guest rooms are upstairs in the 1853 kitchen building behind the main house, and therefore, might not be suitable for those with mobility impairments. They are furnished with antiques and all basic amenities and decorated with tasteful restraint. Lizzie is the cook and housekeeper, and has been with the family for forty years, and she truly is a real gem of a soul. A hot breakfast is served downstairs in the guest quarters, where there is a living room for guests to use, complete with a desk phone and free calling priveleges. The gardens surrounding the house were breathtaking when I saw them; the azaleas were in bloom, and these gardens were planted in antebellum times by Dr. Jenkins, who was a genius of a horticultualist. Elgin is far enough out in the country to give it a remote feeling, but still just a few minutes drive into town. One of the highlights is the tour of the main house, which was built in stages over many years, and features a punkah over the dining room table. The contrast between architectural styles among the periods of construction is one thing that will intrigue visitors, but the gorgeous collection of furnishings serves only as a backdrop to the stories of the people who created this fabulous place. I have stayed in Natchez many times over the past decade, and frankly regard this as the best choice for many reasons, including the price. Compared to other historic B&B's, this is an exceptional value, and from now on, my personal favorite over dozens of other area inns. It's the real, real thing.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
McKinney, TX
16
Reviewed March 24, 2006

If you don't want the chirping of birds waking you up or the hanging moss from the trees getting caught on your car antenna, or if you are a person who is expecting the Ritz Carlton, don't go to Elgin Plantation. But a word of warning...you will miss the hospitality, warmth and wealth of knowledge of Ruth Ellen Calhoun and Lizzie at Elgin Plantation that is so fabulous, words cannot describe. You will stay in the slave quarters at Elgin. If you want true plantation Natchez, this B&B is a must (rent the entire quarters). Each morning, Lizzie, a most beautiful & brilliant woman who has been with the Calhoun's for many years, prepares and serves a marvelous breakfast. I have fond memories of a Natchez visit 10 years ago, but this visit will truly stand out forever because of the graciousness of a lady whom my friends and I now consider a wonderful new friend..Ruth Ellen Calhoun. Mention her name to any docent/homeowner you meet on the tour, and you immediately know how lucky you were to be able to spend time with this lovely woman who was born and raised in Natchez. Don't miss Mammy's Cupboard for lunch (save room for a piece of pie) and located on the highway across from the winding road that leads you to Elgin. Other food recommendations include: Lunch at Carriage House for Fried Chicken & a chocolate tart for dessert, and Pig Out (on Canal Street) for a Pulled Pork Sandwich topped w/slaw.
Four McKinney, Texas, girlfriends know that Ruth Ellen Calhoun and Elgin Plantation are 10-carat diamonds!

Stayed: March 2006
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews