We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Revival”
Review of The Burn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burn
Ranked #12 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sgrone@fuse.net
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greek Revival”
Reviewed April 8, 2005

The Burn is one of the first Greek Revival homes in Natchez. We stayed in the house and not in one of the dependencies. Our accomodation was a double bedroom with bath on the third floor. The cost was very much typical of the area and I felt reasonable. Suitcases were hauled up and down the spiral staircase by our host. The site was clean and quiet. Breakfast consisted of eggs, fruit, grits, bacon, and biscuits and was quite tasty. Hosts were very eager to please and help you find restaurants, tourist sites, and routes for travel. One caution would be that the owner enjoys cats and there were three at time inside the house. They weren't a bother, but for those of you who have allergies this might not be the place for you.

Helpful?
6 Thank dumdum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
75
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
376 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2005

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Burn during Spring Pilgimage. Our room was cozy and comfortable, the breakfast was tasty, and the owners provided personal recommendations for restaurants and sights. The tour given at the Burn was full of insight about Natchez, as well as informing us about the house and its furnishings.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 4, 2005

Terrific room. Mediocre breakfast. Owners are from CA (i.e. not the South...so feels less authentic). Quite expensive, given some of the alternatives in town (Natchez Historic Inn, etc.).

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 31, 2004

We visited Natchez and the Burn B&B in Aug 2004 to begin our search for a wonderful location to retire in the South. Our journey was completed - Love at first sight! The proprietors of the Burn, Ty and Sonia, are to be highly commended for their wonderfullly comfortable home, historical furnishings, hospitality, friendly staff, and knowledge of Natchez and its history. In a very short stay, they helped us to enjoy the town, meet friendly neighbors, savor good food, and actually realize one of our dreams. We enjoyed Natchez, the Burn and the Historic District so much we bought a beautiful home across the street from the Burn. We look forward to enjoying a future that includes the friendly, small city, antebulum atmosphere that surrounds the Burn. We hope all you that visit the Burn in the future have the opportunity to experience an equal amount of pleasure. Ron & Eleanor

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 1, 2004

We loved staying at The Burn. It was very very clean and was the next best thing to being in our own home. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful and so was the tour. A+

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2004

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Burn. It has to be one of the most friendly, hospitable bed and breakfasts in Natchez. The rooms were very clean, the hosts were very amazing, and the home was beautiful. All in all, a must stay for the Natchez traveler.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2004

If you enjoy attention to comfort and detail and a warm freindly staff you'll love The Burn. We found the staff to be endearing with a love for home cooking. They led us to all of the local spots to see. We felt at home in the large well kept rooms and drinking mint julips by the pool added the perfect touch of relaxation to our vacation. We can't wait to get back to The Burn!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starling's
Starling's
#5 of 41 in Natchez
202 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#7 of 41 in Natchez
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn

Property: The Burn
Address: 712 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Burn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Burn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burn Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing