We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back!”
Review of The Burn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burn
Ranked #10 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great history. Very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Owners/staff are wonderful. Swimming pool! Have stayed many places in Natchez but this is my favorite! Located in a quiet, residential neighborhood close to downtown. Haunted!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are fine but I prefer the rooms in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Burn is a great choice for a B&B in Natchez. Good location,outstanding staff led by most friendly and helpful Nell, ample breakfasts changed daily, wine in afternoon, very comfortable rooms, lovely grounds combine to make staying at The Burn an excellent experience.
Natchez is very manageable and we enjoyed being there with friends during the Fall Pilgrimage.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank gm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Burn is an amazing property with a rich history which you can find out about through the daily tour given to guests after some complimentary wine - very civilised! Our room had a massive four poster bed which gave me one of the best nights sleeps of the year. It had real character and a massive fireplace - shame that the (very functional but very modern) bathroom felt at such odds with the rest of the splendour but this is a minor point. Breakfast is served at the same time for all guests at two large tables so you do tend to meet and mingle with other people - not usually my thing but the food was wonderful and it was actually really interesting to meet other people all of whom had tips on places in the area and beyond to visit. Reasonably pricey for a B&B but worth every penny for the comfort and the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We attended the Natchez Pilgrimage where historic homes are open for tours. The Burns is on the tour route. We had the only room in the lower part of the house. Other rooms are in other buildings on the property. We were greeted by wine and a tour of the house. The house is in the historic district and a good location for touring other houses. Comfortable and staff were very accommodating. We met the owners who are real estate agents.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a truly magical place, the grounds and rooms are exquisite, the staff is nice and the breakfast is phenomenal. I literally didn't want to leave. I was so impressed by the Burn and this cute town with its charm and antebellum mansions.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Laura room, it was lovely and had a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ingrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We were needing King beds for our party of 4. 2 of us stayed in the main house and other 2 in the outside rooms. Main house room was very spacious with a comfy bed. We could have had 2 more in this room with us as there were 2 twins in it but it worked out just fine. 1st morning breakfast was not anything spectacular but the 2nd morning there was a most delicious French toast with other sides. The innkeeper was very helpful and really sweet. The grounds are so beautiful. Located near Main Street but not too close. Beautiful grounds with a large cool water pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at The Burn. What a magnificent piece of history. You could feel the history and see the great care the owners have taken to maintain this beautiful antebellum home. The food was delicious and Nell was a joy. The tour was icing on the cake.

We wished we could bring home the bed! So comfy. Loved the pool and grounds. Peaceful and relaxing. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HTownGal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#7 of 41 in Natchez
362 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#4 of 41 in Natchez
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#6 of 41 in Natchez
52 reviews
1.2 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 41 in Natchez
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
1888 Wensel House B&B
1888 Wensel House B&B
#8 of 41 in Natchez
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn

Address: 712 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $164 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Burn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Burn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burn Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing