We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect choice”
Review of The Burn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burn
Ranked #10 of 40 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andalusia, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect choice”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The video on their website intrigued me and clinched the deal on this location. Wonderful choice for our anniversary. Beautiful historical home. Great tour by the hostess Nell in late afternoon while enjoying nice wines. Nell and the owner made great suggestions for dinner and touring. Stayed in the Laura room. Well appointed. Nice bath. Great porch for drinking coffee and relaxing. Nice breakfast with delicious coffee. Beautiful quiet residential area. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Laura room has a shared porch overlooking garden area with fountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    26
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I chose The Burn for a weekend visit with my best friends from college. We loved it! The accomodations were perfect for our group of 5. We stayed in the Ernestine and the Laura rooms and they were comfortable and spacious. We even had a little balcony where we could sit and visit. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We felt as if we owned the place!...free the wander the grounds and the house at our leisure. Breakfast was delicious and it was fun meeting the other residents. Thanks to Mrs. Nell for being a wonderful hostess! We hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcreel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first time in an Antebellum Bed and Breakfast, and I must say I was very impressed with the Burn. It has modern amenities like wifi and a pool, but I didn't have time to use either one. While my friend and I were there, the hostess and staff made us feel as though we were members of the household (minus the chores) and the community. We bought the girlfriend getaway package, and it was awesome! The hostess took care of everything for us.. all we had to do was show up which made our trip go very smoothly! The traditional southern breakfast served was AMAZING! I have NO complaints or "cons" about this place (other than having to leave and come back to the real world). I would recommend it to anyone, and most definitely WILL stay there the next time I am in Natchez.

Room Tip: The Lucy room is the only room inside the main house, and is completely private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaETA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the nicest accommodation of this sort we've stayed in. The rooms are truly lovely with updated bathrooms and genuinely nice firnishings with good bedding. It's very clean which is something I'm very particular about. The grounds are very attractive and well kept. Our breakfast on both mornings were made from scratch and delicious and served in the beautiful dining area as is good quality wine served in the afternoon. The staff is excellent, very helpful and friendly and professional. I would consider this to be a small inn rather than a B&B. We don't like B&B's....too much grandma's attic. The Burn sounded like a cut above and we were glad we gave it a try, We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighs890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Loved it. Nell is such a perfect hostess. We felt welcome and wanted. All questions and requests were met with a smile and a more than satisfactory response. Great people working there. Is in a good location. Food was good. Beautiful room. As much privacy as you want. My sister and I felt very comfortable and safe there. Convenient parking area. Beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family of four (two rooms since we have two teenage boys) stayed at The Burn this past weekend and enjoyed it. The breakfast was delicious and served in a beautiful setting. The wine in the late afternoon was a nice touch as well. The grounds are enjoyable and the pool inviting though a little too chilly this weekend to get in. Nell is so gracious and the owners are delightful as well. We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggywedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautifully maintained antebellum home! Modern bathroom and comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wine & cheese reception at 5:30, with the owners, made us feel right at home. We have stayed in over a dozen B&B's in the last 2-3 years; this one is the best!! Highly recommended, especially for a getaway weekend or a romantic trip............

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.3 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#2 of 17 in Natchez
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 40 in Natchez
489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 40 in Natchez
348 reviews
9.0 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#5 of 40 in Natchez
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn

Property: The Burn
Address: 712 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Burn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Burn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burn Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing