We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend in Natchez”
Review of The Burn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burn
Ranked #11 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

For my husband's birthday we decided to get away for the weekend to a B&B in Natchez. Our anniversary was only 10 days later so we chose a Bed and Breakfast. Natchez is a city with SO much charm. So many neat shops on Main Street, carriage rides, and fabulous restaurants. The Burn is beautiful, and like many homes in Natchez had so much history to tell. We ate Friday night at the Castle Restaurant which is on Dunleith's propery( another beautiful plantation home where you can stay also). The atmosphere at the Castle was great. They gave us a special table for our anniversary. I loved the red fish, but my husband wasn't pleased with his steak ( I liked it too!). Saturday we strolled downtown and did some shopping. We toured a couple of homes: Stanton Hall and Longwood. I recommend both. We ate lunch at Cotton Alley Cafe and brought back take out from Planet Thailand Saturday night. We went to Mass Sunday 10am at St. Mary's Basilica. This is a must see in Natchez. The church is usually open during the day for visitors to admire it's beauty. We ate lunch on our way out of Natchez under the hill at Magnolia Grill. Miss Nell, our hostess, at The Burn is truly a sweet lady and gives a great tour of the home. Breakfast each morning was wonderful as well! The beds are so comfortable. We stayed in the Lucy Room-the only room in the original home. The owners live upstairs, but were out of town this weekend. There is so much more to do in Natchez that we will return! Next time we'd like to drive up Hwy 61 to eat at Mr. D's-home of the world's best fried chicken, drive through Rodney, and see Windsor Ruins.

Room Tip: Our room was The Lucy Room, and the only room in the original home where visitors can stay. Several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The facility setting and back yard are beautiful. The criticisms are with the room (Lucy). I have stayed and many B&B's and this one lacks the special touches needed: poor lighting, no clock, squeaky doors, bad shutter door for the bathroom, thin towels and the slats on the bed were poorly spaced. I had to adjust them myself - otherwise there was a big dip in the bed. Oh, and the owner's dog. Generally the dog was quiet, but we did hear him one evening and one morning. Breakfasts were fair.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Burn, arriving by bicycle from the Natchez Trace. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, and the breakfast was great. The best thing was the grounds, as the flowers were in spring bloom. There were nice touches, like lavendar sachets and cold water in the fridge. The only negative was the towels - they were really thin and worn out. Everything else, really nice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lga311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Burn is the best b&b in Natchez. The guest rooms are roomy and furnished with period pieces. The main house is among the most beautiful old homes in Natchez. The serivice is wonderful. You are made to feel like family. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Wine in the evening was a nice touch. The pool and gardens are lovely. I would recommend The Burn to anyone looking for a special stay in Natchez.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Monkeysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at The Burn for only one night, but found it to be wonderful. The main house is among the most beautiful of the great houses in Natchez and our room was terrific: large, filled with beautiful period furnishings and a spacious, modern bath.
We were warmly greeted by both the owner and the manager, Nell, who gave us a tour of the property and a glass of wine. Breakfast was good and the service was outstanding. I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else in Natchez.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Travelling through from New Orleans to Clarksdale a great stay for a couple of nights. A classic b and b - a lovely historical house set close to the banks of the Mississippi. A lovely walk from the burn to the town along the river was a highlight. Special thanks to Nel who made us Brits feel right at home.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Burn is the best of the best for b & b's. We loved this place. Great service. Very clean and well appointed rooms. Charm. Esthetics. Wine in the evenings with friends and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. And on top of that, our own house tour in the evenings. We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: We liked the Clara and Laura rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teethers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 17 in Natchez
665 reviews
0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#5 of 41 in Natchez
367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#6 of 41 in Natchez
55 reviews
1 mi away
Twins Oaks Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Natchez Pearl
The Natchez Pearl
#7 of 41 in Natchez
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn

Address: 712 N Union St, Natchez, MS 39120-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $149 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Burn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Burn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burn Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing