We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Road Trip”
Review of St. Mary Basilica

St. Mary Basilica
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Recognized as an architectural masterpiece among Catholic churches in the south, it is the spiritual home of a vibrant St. Mary Catholic community today. The construction of this place of worship was begun in 1842 as the Cathedral of the newly established Diocese of Natchez. The St. Mary congregation takes pride in the basilica's colorful and prayerful setting, and welcomes visitors from near and distant places. The city of Natchez, on the Mississippi River and the birthplace of Mississippi, is a tourist destination because of its historic ante-bellum homes. St. Mary Basilica, also ante-bellum, is the city's central landmark.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family Road Trip”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beautiful church. We went to mass there on 8/15 for Assumption of Mary (Holy Day of Obiligation) It is a historic site and the most beautiful church in Natchez

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    48
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, awe-inspiring”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was at least my second visit inside the sanctuary, and as always it was inspiring. I am not Catholic, but despite differences in religious ritual, I loved the holiness it portrayed. It was thought-provoking to view the different decorative windows.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Point, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Grandiose Catholic Church”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The artwork and architecture are phenomenal. I was somewhat disappointed that the lights were off and it was diffficult to really examinet the building's interior.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rtness41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A Must See Church”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I had read about this from other reviewers and went to see it. I have never seen a more beautiful church inside. It was just amazing. When I walked in it brought tears to my eyes from the stained glass windows to the unbelievable statues gold trimmed columns - altar and the gorgeous ceiling. This is something I would definitely recommend to anyone who is in Natchez to visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Impressive Stained Glass”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very ornate church that is well worth a quick visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank staffie2001uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mary Basilica also viewed

 

Been to St. Mary Basilica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing