We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They aim to please!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotton Alley Cafe

Cotton Alley Cafe
Ranked #2 of 93 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“They aim to please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had dinner, sitting outside with our Cocker Spaniel, Pearl. First of all, the entire of staff at Cotton Alley went out of its way to make us feel welcome and to accommodate us. One of us has a garlic allergy, and the chef came out to make sure we wouldn't have a problem. The food was quite good and the overall experience most enjoyable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    189
    53
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place For Lunch or Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful grilled Mai Mai. It was fresh and done to perfection. We perfer sitting at the bar instead of a table so our service was excellent and we get to visit with serveral people on the wait staff. The abiance was very nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our B&B (Oak Hill Inn) had recommended this place and they were right. The food was excellent although they didn't help much with our gluten free and vegetarian friends. I had the chicken with grilled veggies and all was wonderful. Beautiful atmosphere and very cozy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy B, Owner at Cotton Alley Cafe, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
These people came in the restaurant looking for a confrontation. We do not cater to a miriad of food allergies. It seems that the whole group had some kind of food allergy. Perhaps they need to eat at hospitals. we get glowing reviews from 99% of our customers maybe there was something wrong with this group? I think they enjoyed trying to antagonize everyone in the restaurant. there leader was very angry from the minute they walked in. She left screaming and flipping obsenites to everyone in the building. I have never had customers act the way this group acted. We tried to accomodate them but there strange confrontational manner did not allow us to do so. "The customer is always right" sorry not in this case. The restauant business is a very difficult business trying to please the public. Some people you just cannot please and they love it and love to complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal in months”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed in Natchez for work about a week ago and stumble upon this place. I started off with the fried eggplant as an app. It was fantastic. I then had a side salad with their homemade sour cream vinegarette. The dressing was fantastic as well. For my main course, I had the seasame seed encrusted yellow fin tuna. The tuna was cooked to a perfect medium rare as requested and tasted delcious. In fact, I would perfer this tuna over any steak any day of the week, and I love filets of beef. I would highly suggest this place if you are in the area. The service was a little lacking, but the food made up for it. Just go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmeiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Natchez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have visited Cotton Alley several times over the years. They consistently have delicious, well presented food. We have never been disappointed and always left commenting on how good it is.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MVPinBoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Alley Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Alley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing