We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surpassed high expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surpassed high expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

The approach to the house is attractively planted. In front is a lovely brick patio with 2 fountains, perched over a cliff, with a breath-taking view of the Mississippi. The house is a jewel, painstakingly restored and furnished with period pieces by host Durell. (The accomodations are also very comfortable). The host is gracious, delightful -- full of humorous and informative stories about the house, town of Natchez and its people. Several good restaurants are a 10 minute walk down the path which runs between the house and the river. We enjoyed the informal "Cotton Alley Cafe". In the morning our host served us the breakfast of B&B breakfasts with several unexpected (and delicious additions) to the eggs, sausage and home-made biscuits.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jockular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

A truly wonderful place. Beautiful home, gorgeous antiques, tremendous view, oustanding food, and the absolute best host ever. Durrell Epperson is so accomodating. He can entertain for hours with his wonderful stories. He makes you feel like you have know him forever. The wine is ever flowing. It is more like you are staying with a friend than at a bed and breakfast. We will go back soon and often.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utmsu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This was a first trip for me without my husband - my girlfriends came with me to help get
over the lose of him. I love the old south and Riverside B & B helped me to reenact what
it must have been like. The house is fantastic with its furnishings and service. It's Durell
that makes the stay so special. Waking up to have coffee at your doorstep to start the day
and then a breakfast that is nothing like you would ever find anywhere. You'll be
dieting once you leave. Durell is a wonderful storyteller and you literally have to tear
yourself a way to get anything else done. Also, he is a wealh of information on the
area. Go see for yourself.
Pat from Philadelphia

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SACPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

If you are looking for the charm that the historic homes bring, an UTMOST SUPERB Host, a bedroom with unbelievable comfort and a breakfast that surpasses any one else's, stay at the Riverside Bed & Breakfast in Natchez, MS! It's within walking distance to amost everything! We stayed there April 23 thru 25, 2010 for our Aniversary weekend and had a wonderful time. The owner, Durell Epperson was unbelievable! Charming, funny and full of the most intersting stories. As gracious as a host could be and is a joy to be around. You will have a friend when you leave! We sure do! Loved our weekend and we will return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnbond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

This was with no doubt the best place to stay in Natchez, the breakfast was just outstanding and elegantly performed by one of the best host we could have every found!
A beautiful home and decorated with fantastic appeal for the southern charm. The view was the best you could find for being right on the river!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classofcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

My second stay here, my friends' first. They were enchanted with the breathtaking view and the magnificent furnishings and antiques. Riverside truly has a positive energy that renews the spirit and relaxes the mind. Durrell is a most gracious and knowledgeable host. Especially the "Eternal Spring" at sunset on the balcony was just what the doctor prescribed for stress and rejuvenation from the rat race. He made our reservations for dinner at King's Tavern, which serves an awesome prime rib. The beds are like heaven and the rooms are quiet. After dinner we returned to the house and sat out on the upstairs balcony looking over the river till after midnight, feeling the cool breeze and contemplating the lights on the majestic bridge. We hated to go inside but the need for sleep in the canopied beds finally prevailed. Be sure to be good and hungry for breakfast because you will NOT be disappointed. Where else can you get all the OJ, Diet Coke, hot tea you want with the same meal. I recommend Riverside Bed and Breakfast to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

Natchez is a town with many B&Bs and lovely places to stay of which I have stayed at many through the years. However, the Riverside B&B is in a class by itself both in Natchez or elsewhere. Do not be put off by the fact that you only can pay by cash or check and there is no website. I was initially, but this is travel to a different place where time moves at a very different place; but It is worth every nickle and then some of your time. The location is extraordinary- on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi River. From the vantage point of the magnificent front porch and garden or beautiful 2nd floor balcony, one could be hard put to find a better spot to spend a morning or evening even in the summer time.
Visiting @ the Riverside is like staying with a doting uncle with more treasures than a mind can fathom. Durel is an extraordinary conversationalist with whom you could spend endless time listening to his stories. Don't be in a hurry, you do not want to miss a one. But his hospitality is unmatched in my experience. It probably starts with the endless wine on the rear porch, but it is also when he leaves a pitcher of ice water outside your door in the evening or the fresh cafe ole in the morning, or his many recommendations for dining and on and on. You feel welcome and comfortable at his home and feel like you have known him forever. The breakfast is a feast of food and conversation that should also be taken at leisure and is most enjoyable.
The Riverside itself has an extraordinary # of fine antique furnishings, paintings, porcelins and china for which Durel can provide lavish history. Yet, you are encouraged to indulge in them rather than simply observe. Our room and bath was well furnished with great antiques and a claw foot tub. It was very comfortable.
We look forward for the next opportunity to spend another weekend with a great host and remarkable B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickedWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
1888 Wensel House B&B
1888 Wensel House B&B
#8 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Address: 211 Clifton Ave, Natchez, MS 39120-2307
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Natchez
Riverside b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing