We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of First Presbyterian Church

First Presbyterian Church
Ranked #12 of 48 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A highlight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice volunteers met me at the door and led tour of the sanctuary. Very helpful information about the history of the church and the town. Self-guided tour upstairs of very large photograph collection is phoenominal. DO NOT MISS!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwtraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow -- the Photo Gallery is worth your time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Someone at a restaurant noticed we were tourists and insisted we take the time to visit the church.. Wow, we are glad we did. The photos displayed laying out years of Natchez and southern history is like no other. It is on two floors of the church. The church is enchanting. This is on my top ten places to visit while in Natchez.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MommapMommap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Go and see the photography expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The church itself was wll worth a view as it gave an insight to a Southern church. We visited the photography expedition on the upper floors depicting the houses and people of Natchez. This is well worth a visit and is free although donations are trequested.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“See the photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The historic photo collection for Natchez is here and it is absolutely wonderful. Also, the church itself is beautiful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hoosier16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“incredible photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This collection of historic photos of Natchez show the life of the city around 1900. The photos of children and everyday activities connect the viewer to the subjects. The Normans were photographers ahead of their time and produced top quality work.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank groveronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Presbyterian Church also viewed

 

Been to First Presbyterian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing