We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible, Joe Stone is a treasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph Newman Stone House Concerts

Joseph Newman Stone House Concerts
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy sipping complimentary wine while relaxing to music of the Masters, played on a 1903 Steinway grand piano in the Stone House Music Room. Hear this private classical piano performance by a graduate of two prominent American conservatories, along with complimentary wine, followed by a tour of the unique Stone House. Composers generally featured include Schubert, Chopin, Brahms, Gottschalk, Debussy, and Liszt among others. Usual rate is $20 per person. Reservations are necessary.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible, Joe Stone is a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

He explained the music, then masterfully played the music all in his amazing house while enjoying a nice wine. What a gracious marvelous man.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MooseCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“Masterful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Even after reading the great reviews, this exceeded my expectations! Started off our evening by attending his amazing concerta. A must do activity if you're visiting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fine music presented with thorough descriptions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room comes alive as you discover that you are surrounded by artifacts and furnishings stemming all the way back to the first occupants of the house. The "era appropriate music" helps those walls talk as the selections are played in house parlor. As Joe points our, instruments like this often were a major source of daily entertainment in the early 19th century. After several musical pieces the focus shifts to the house tour exhibiting pictures and furnishings that cause one to become intimate with the family and local history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank minnesotasparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeboone
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We Shall Return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We attended the concert when we stayed at the B&B (see our review). We have never followed classical music but Joe's program was something special and we can vouch for all the positive comments from the other reviews. This would be a stop on any trip to Natchez whether you are staying at the Stone House or not. It is well worth the price of admission.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaJimBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Champagne and Chopin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Piano concert is in the Stone House bed and breakfast. The pianist talks about each piece and the composer prior to and after playing it, which makes the music come alive. Sipping champagne while listening to beautifully played classical music is lovely. A tour of the B and B follows. The home has been in the Stone family for generations and he has many interesting pieces. His family history is amazing. Check out the very special copy of a great southern novel and photo of the author and good friend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph Newman Stone House Concerts also viewed

 

Been to Joseph Newman Stone House Concerts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing