We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Glorious Girl weekend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Vale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Vale
Save
You added Magnolia Vale to your Saves list
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Glorious Girl weekend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

OMG!!! What a wonderful, lovely, fabulous & memorable five days in Natchez, MS!! From our morning coffee in the sunroom watching the "Mighty Mississip" float by, to the amazingly well-stocked breakfast items in the Gatekeeper's Cottage, moving on to the VERY friendly locals in Natchez, followed by the reasonable prices @ the restaurants we visited (Sunday Brunch @ Gatekeeper's @ Stanton Hall, brkfst @ "the Castle" @ Dunleith, lunch @ Magnolia Grill, etc.); wine @ sunset bk @ Magnolia Vale by the firepit & lastly, fab homemade dinners in the well-equipped kitchen...just call me one VERY satisfied tourist. I hesitate to share this -- what a sweet, peaceful place -- please don't EVER lose the quaintness/tranquility of such a magical environment.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonio_TxRcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Magnolia Vale, Gate Keepers Cottage. Another absolutely wonderful experience. It's a getaway to a 5 star hotel, but you don't have to deal with "people". Fantastic relaxing, romantic weekend and great place just to reconnect with that one dearest to your heart. Beautiful view overlooking the river, quiet and remote. Barbara is a wonderful hostess. We will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I'm not a big fan of bed-and-breakfast, I always find them a little too stuffy or little too homey. Magnolia Vale broke that mold, with an incredibly comfortable room with pleasant amenities the likes of a 4 star hotel.

I'm so glad we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at many different hotels and B&Bs both with my family and on business, but I must say that this ranks as one of my best stays ever. We took both cottages. Gatekeepers was recently remodelled and gorgeous, and Pigeonnairre was located close to the main house next to the pool. Whilst a cooked breakfast is not provided, the fridges are fully stocked with all manner of goodies and we were also given the option to take breakfast (complementary) at a restaurant within a lovely plantation close by.

The grounds of Magnolia Vale are perfectly manicured and overlook the Mighty Mississippi. My daughters (aged 17 and 19) loved the fact that they could stay in a separate cottage, and they thoroughly enjoyed the company of the 2 dogs that live in the main house.

Barbara, who runs the accommodation proved to the hostess with the mostest. She was helpful without being intrusive, and she could not have been more helpful.

We spent 2 weeks in The Deep South of the USA on a road trip, and stayed in some great places, but Magnolia Vale was by far and away the best. Do yourself a favour and stay here...you deserve it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My only hesitation writing this glowing review, is now everyone will be booking it, and I MUST come back! We stayed two nights in this perfect little cottage. First, we enjoyed the final day of the Balloon Festival, with great views. Our second night took us to dinner on the river. It was a wonderful location, the hospitality was over-the-top helpful and accommodating. I highly recommend this property for either a family of four, or a couple's retreat. If you're lucky, you'll enjoy a morning rain on the side porch, while drinking your first cup of coffee... Happy Travels!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pull-out couch for our kids, while keeping the king-sized bed for ourselves! The kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in the Gatekeepers's cottage at beautiful Magnolia Vale. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded, and private location in which to base yourself for visiting the Natchez area, you can not get better than this.The cottage had everything we needed and more. Barbara was most helpful in providing information and any necessities we wanted to make our stay enjoyable. The location on the river provided wonderful views and it was close enough to town to walk. OK, there is one steep hill, but the excercise let's you eat more of all the wonderful food found in Natchez! I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet romantic getaway spot.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Magnolia Vale exceeded our expectations ~ we thought it would be nice, but it was fabulous! We stayed in the gatekeeper's cottage which was absolutely beautiful ~ lovely decor and gorgeous furnishings and linens. The owners really made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. They provided delicious treats, homemade cookies and fresh flowers which was wonderful. The grounds of the main house are beautiful and the pool was just great! It really was truly peaceful and relaxing, but then close to downtown Natchez where there are some great places to eat. Would definitely recommend here and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Natchez
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 2 in Vidalia
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Vale

Property: Magnolia Vale
Address: 29 Learneds Mill Rd, Natchez, MS 39120-2900
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Natchez
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing