We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Immaculate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Vale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Vale
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at many different hotels and B&Bs both with my family and on business, but I must say that this ranks as one of my best stays ever. We took both cottages. Gatekeepers was recently remodelled and gorgeous, and Pigeonnairre was located close to the main house next to the pool. Whilst a cooked breakfast is not provided, the fridges are fully stocked with all manner of goodies and we were also given the option to take breakfast (complementary) at a restaurant within a lovely plantation close by.

The grounds of Magnolia Vale are perfectly manicured and overlook the Mighty Mississippi. My daughters (aged 17 and 19) loved the fact that they could stay in a separate cottage, and they thoroughly enjoyed the company of the 2 dogs that live in the main house.

Barbara, who runs the accommodation proved to the hostess with the mostest. She was helpful without being intrusive, and she could not have been more helpful.

We spent 2 weeks in The Deep South of the USA on a road trip, and stayed in some great places, but Magnolia Vale was by far and away the best. Do yourself a favour and stay here...you deserve it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

My only hesitation writing this glowing review, is now everyone will be booking it, and I MUST come back! We stayed two nights in this perfect little cottage. First, we enjoyed the final day of the Balloon Festival, with great views. Our second night took us to dinner on the river. It was a wonderful location, the hospitality was over-the-top helpful and accommodating. I highly recommend this property for either a family of four, or a couple's retreat. If you're lucky, you'll enjoy a morning rain on the side porch, while drinking your first cup of coffee... Happy Travels!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the pull-out couch for our kids, while keeping the king-sized bed for ourselves! The kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in the Gatekeepers's cottage at beautiful Magnolia Vale. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded, and private location in which to base yourself for visiting the Natchez area, you can not get better than this.The cottage had everything we needed and more. Barbara was most helpful in providing information and any necessities we wanted to make our stay enjoyable. The location on the river provided wonderful views and it was close enough to town to walk. OK, there is one steep hill, but the excercise let's you eat more of all the wonderful food found in Natchez! I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet romantic getaway spot.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Magnolia Vale exceeded our expectations ~ we thought it would be nice, but it was fabulous! We stayed in the gatekeeper's cottage which was absolutely beautiful ~ lovely decor and gorgeous furnishings and linens. The owners really made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. They provided delicious treats, homemade cookies and fresh flowers which was wonderful. The grounds of the main house are beautiful and the pool was just great! It really was truly peaceful and relaxing, but then close to downtown Natchez where there are some great places to eat. Would definitely recommend here and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Spectacular Antebellum home nestled up to the mighty Mississippi River. We stayed 2 nights at The Pigeonnaire, a spacious, luxurious and private cottage near the pool and cabana (behind the main house). It was too cold in March to use the pool during our stay. Our room was beautifully decorated and filled with all amenities including comfy bath robes, hair dryer, plentiful tasty snacks, and beverages AND fresh flowers beside the bed!. The immaculate grounds are filled with gorgeous flowers during Pilgrimage ( and I'm sure throughout the year!). You must sit on 'the hill' and watch the tug boats pass by on the river... so relaxing! Cozy up to the fire pit on the cool days or nights while sipping wine and watching riverboats and barges ply the Mighty Mississippi-we so enjoyed it! The bed was super comfy and there is free internet, plenty of parking. The innkeeper, Barbara, was most helpful advising us on things to do in Natchez. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacretia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you want a very unique Southern experience.... stay at Magnolia-Vale. It is so close to the Mississippi River you can hear and see the river boats. Definitely a private get-away... yet close to downtown. Very upscale decor and accommodations....and friendly management! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

The Gatekeeper's Cottage was a wonderful retreat - cozy and charming with an amazing view and a terrific location. We were within walking distance of downtown Natchez with the restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing and yet, it was quiet with a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. The cottage had all the amenities we could want - the bed was sooo comfortable, the bath and kitchen spaces were great. The staff provided delicious treats and breakfast items. We'd like to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.1 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Vale

Property: Magnolia Vale
Address: 29 Learneds Mill Rd, Natchez, MS 39120-2900
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Natchez
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing