We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location in a perfect Southern town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Vale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Vale
Save
You added Magnolia Vale to your Saves list
Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Location in a perfect Southern town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I just spent 3 nights in the Gatekeepers's cottage at beautiful Magnolia Vale. If you are looking for a quiet, secluded, and private location in which to base yourself for visiting the Natchez area, you can not get better than this.The cottage had everything we needed and more. Barbara was most helpful in providing information and any necessities we wanted to make our stay enjoyable. The location on the river provided wonderful views and it was close enough to town to walk. OK, there is one steep hill, but the excercise let's you eat more of all the wonderful food found in Natchez! I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet romantic getaway spot.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulagirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Magnolia Vale exceeded our expectations ~ we thought it would be nice, but it was fabulous! We stayed in the gatekeeper's cottage which was absolutely beautiful ~ lovely decor and gorgeous furnishings and linens. The owners really made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. They provided delicious treats, homemade cookies and fresh flowers which was wonderful. The grounds of the main house are beautiful and the pool was just great! It really was truly peaceful and relaxing, but then close to downtown Natchez where there are some great places to eat. Would definitely recommend here and hope to be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Spectacular Antebellum home nestled up to the mighty Mississippi River. We stayed 2 nights at The Pigeonnaire, a spacious, luxurious and private cottage near the pool and cabana (behind the main house). It was too cold in March to use the pool during our stay. Our room was beautifully decorated and filled with all amenities including comfy bath robes, hair dryer, plentiful tasty snacks, and beverages AND fresh flowers beside the bed!. The immaculate grounds are filled with gorgeous flowers during Pilgrimage ( and I'm sure throughout the year!). You must sit on 'the hill' and watch the tug boats pass by on the river... so relaxing! Cozy up to the fire pit on the cool days or nights while sipping wine and watching riverboats and barges ply the Mighty Mississippi-we so enjoyed it! The bed was super comfy and there is free internet, plenty of parking. The innkeeper, Barbara, was most helpful advising us on things to do in Natchez. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacretia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you want a very unique Southern experience.... stay at Magnolia-Vale. It is so close to the Mississippi River you can hear and see the river boats. Definitely a private get-away... yet close to downtown. Very upscale decor and accommodations....and friendly management! Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The Gatekeeper's Cottage was a wonderful retreat - cozy and charming with an amazing view and a terrific location. We were within walking distance of downtown Natchez with the restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing and yet, it was quiet with a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. The cottage had all the amenities we could want - the bed was sooo comfortable, the bath and kitchen spaces were great. The staff provided delicious treats and breakfast items. We'd like to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBean32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.5 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
1.6 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Vale

Property: Magnolia Vale
Address: 29 Learneds Mill Rd, Natchez, MS 39120-2900
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Natchez
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing