We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiral Staircase”

Auburn Museum & Historic Home
Ranked #15 of 50 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spiral Staircase”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Auburn is a beautiful antebellum home is a city full of beautiful antebellum homes. What sets it apart is the spectacular unsupported spiral staircase, one, we were told, of only three in America. It is owned and shown by the City, which means photos are permitted in the interior, unlike most of the antebellum homes in Natchez.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    20
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great antebellum home”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was not one of the homes recommended to us but I feel it should be. It was saved from total ruin many times. So glad they preserved this one. It is a great beauty with an amazing spiral staircase. Once again we are shown how the war impacted this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful tour”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the staircase in this house was beautiful. our guide was excellents also. i love it when they know the details but are also full of passion!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank btgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to visit”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This old antebellum home has much to see. The furnishings and tour guides are fantastic. This is a must see home to visit if you are interested in the antebellum and old south culture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not a scripted tour”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This house is operated by volunteers so you really feel the difference. These people are there because they want to be there. It wasn't a stuffy scripted tour. I felt like I was just visiting the lovely home & chatting with my charming tour guides. I toured the house while my husband was allowed to walk the grounds with our dog that was traveling with us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auburn Museum & Historic Home also viewed

 

Been to Auburn Museum & Historic Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing