We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a "girls' trip" to Natchez and stayed at The Elms. Loved the house, the hospitality, hearing the history of the home. Wonderful breakfast, beautiful antiques. Made us feel so welcome and at home. Enjoyed visiting with the owner and staff. Great time and experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Elms Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

... into a glorious, historic Natchez home. Such a treat!

We arrived in Natchez after a long drive and were immediately swept up by the hospitality and dream-like qualities of this beautiful property. Our room was exquisite - a two roomed suite with a luxurious modern bathroom. Our room opened up onto the 2nd floor porch - perfect for enjoying the vistas provided by their beautiful property.

Our host graciously entertained us all evening, sharing the family history and tales of the of Natchez and her former glory. I don't think I've ever seen such a beautiful home, so lovingly maintained. It provided a wonderful backdrop for learning about the South, the role of Natchez, and the dramatic changes over time. Quite an experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenwaterloo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

For our 40th anniversary, we stayed at The Elms. Our room, the Drake, was spacious, comfortable, filled with lovely antiques and equipped with a thoroughly modern bathroom. We spent evenings watching the sunset from the second floor veranda that surrounded our room. Our host Jerry went out of his way to make our visit a wonderful experience. Breakfast was delicious. Location is excellent. Everything in historic downtown Natchez is within walking distance.

Room Tip: The Drake room includes a room with a double bed and an adjoining room with 2 twin beds.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YatWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the gracious host, Jerry, who made dinner reservations for us, tour of the historic home, recommendations of what to do in Natchez. Breakfast was delicious. Our room was full of antiques. Only bad thing was noisy AC.. Enjoyed sitting on spacious porch in the evening visiting with other guests and gazing at live oaks and crepe myrtles. It's July and there was actually a breeze in the evening!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1031babu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Esther, the owner and chef is one of the most delightful ladies I have ever met. The accommodations and food were outstanding! She spent time with us and shared wonderful information about her family history and home. She made sure we had everything that we needed. I can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were warmly greeted by the owner and her delightful two poodles, the house is amazing, I expected to see Mark Twain appear in the living room, it is that much of a period piece...Exquisite.

Lovely bedroom with a cool 4 Poster Bed and the following morning we were treated to a lovely cooked breakfast!

Wish we could have stayed longer but we had a busy schedule on our Road Trip of the Deep South so was only there an evening and one night..

Thank you, the stay was memorable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNeuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We didn’t stay here, but did try their restaurant. This is more than a restaurant, it’s an institution.

After delicious Grilled Salmon on a Bed of Wilted Spring Greens with Pancetta and Olives, I got the main course: Grilled Brest of Duck with a Blueberry and Pear Port Wine Sauce. It was superb! This was followed by an exquisite Frozen Praline Mouse Cake with Chocolate Sauce.
Who would think that deep in North American South someone could cook on par with Michelin studded Parisians restaurants?

Chef Esther Carpenter is fifth generation owner of the Elms, a delightful reincarnation of one of antebellum plantations of Natchez.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Starlings Natchez
Starlings Natchez
#3 of 17 in Natchez
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 17 in Natchez
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
GardenSong B&B
GardenSong B&B
#7 of 41 in Natchez
46 reviews
9.5 mi away
Brandon Hall Plantation
Brandon Hall Plantation
#5 of 41 in Natchez
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 801 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range: $164 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms is an authentic antebellum mansion bed & breakfast in downtown Natchez. Managed by a 5th generation owner, the style is personal and luxurious. One feels more like an invitee than a guest. A Southern breakfast is served in the family dining room on antique china and silverware. Located in a park-like setting and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing