We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
st.louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Elms, what a wonderful experience. Esther is a fabulous chef and the breakfasts were outstanding. The grounds are so pretty and the home is just beautiful. Lots of nooks and crannies to explore. The room and bathroom were so pretty, we both loved it and didn't want to leave! I would highly recommend the Elms. We would love to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

My sister and I stayed for two nights at The Elms in the Drake Room. I wanted to stay in that room since the walls were hand stenciled by Esther. It was a roomy suite with wonderful bathroom. The furniture, furnishings, and bed linens were lovely and comfortable. Attention to details is evident from the warm welcome, the turndown service, and excellent breakfasts. Also making this the perfect place to stay is wireless internet service and large flat panel TV. The history of the home is unique and it was delightful to look through the rooms to find the history of the family who have owned the home for over 100 years. Esther's breakfasts are the best in southern cuisine.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky2594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

My son's fiance, mother, aunts, brother and sister-in-law with 6 month old stayed at the Elms. They are from Mexico and were reluctant to try a bed and breakfast. They were so impressed and loved the rooms decor and the wonderful breakfast. Esther made them feel very comfortable. The aunts loved that they could walk from the Elms to the downtown area. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadley, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Elms is a lovely home with lots of history. Esther and Adele are wonderful hostesses. We felt like we were staying in our grandmother's house. Breakfast was unbelievably good. If you want to stay in a bed and breakfast that is both beautiful and comfortable chose The Elms!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

My sister and I went to Natchez for a Girlfriend's Getaway and stayed at The Elms. The owner/hostess was so hospitable and made us feel very welcome. The home itself is showing signs of age, but this only added to its charm and made us feel like we were truly living in the wonderful history of the home and the city, as everything we needed (wireless internet, flat screen TV, marble shower, spa towels & robes) was top notch. The location is great - walking distance to the downtown area overlooking the Mississippi River but enough away that you had peace & quiet. We also got an incredible value using one of their 2 night packages which included tours of several homes and a very cool ghost tour. I highly recommend The Elms, and specifically the Drake Room (the one we had).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CookseyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lavaca, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We have just returned home from our stay in Natchez and The Elms. We have stayed in a number of B&B's in the past and this one exceeds all the others by far. From the moment we arrived we were treated to the gracious hospitality the South is famous for. The owner, Esther and her staff made us feel right at home. The home has been in Esther's family for many, many years and include numerous pieces of family heirlooms that you will never see in other restored homes. The tour we were given of the home was a highlight of our stay in Natchez. Esther has a wealth of knowledge of not only her family history but that of Natchez as well.

Our room was spacious and very clean. Furnished with a four-poster king size bed and well-appointed furnishings of the period. The bathroom has been recently updated and includes a beautiful claw foot tub and modern fixtures and walk-in shower. The modernization of the home has been done in such a way as to keep the historical intergrity of the home. Esther has accomplished this task with flying colors. The property surrounding the home is just beautiful and lends itself to quiet walks or finding a nice shade tree to sit beneath and read or to jusr soak up the sites and smells of Natchez and let your mind wonder back to a time gone by.

The breakfasts we were treated to were nothing less than AMAZING!!! Each morning we looked forward to going downsatairs to discover what treats Esther had in store for us. Each morning the menu was different and we were never disappointed. The pancakes, grtis, muffins, eggs, and fruit salads were a just absolutely scrumptuous. The breakfast alone is reason enough to stay at The Elms, but the home itself is absolutely gorgeous and the owner, Esther and her wonderful staff make you feel like you are family.

The attention to detail that is given by the folks at The Elms is refreshing to say the least from the luxurious towels in the bath, to each evening upon our return we would find wonderful soft music playing on the flat-screen TV , our bed turned down for us and a wonderful pitcher of ice water by our bedside and a delightful chocolate treat waiting for us. They have thought of everything, and yes I agree with the previous writer who believes Esther irons the sheets, they are always immaculate, just pefect.

We are telling everyone we know if they are ever in Natchez and want to be spoiled beyond belief to not miss out on this jewel of the South. It is poitively wonderful. We will stay there again and she may never get us to leave.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny56480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

What a wonderful experience. We have just returned from a family retreat from our beloved Natchez, where we had the delightful opportunity to spend 3 nights at this rather quaint B&B. Have stayed at several throughout the Natchez area, and have found this one to be our favorite. Esther is the perfect hostess. We were welcomed with a glass of complimentary wine followed each morning with the most delicious southern breakfast each morning. The rooms are rustically charming and clean, with spacious and updated bath, plush towels, and incredibly soft bed linens. Each evening we returned to find our beds turned down and a sumptuous treat awaiting us. The location is excellent, and within walking distance of many of the historic sites which draw us to the area. We had such an incredible experience, that we plan to return soon with our daughters for cooking classes where we hope to glean some of Esther's culinary secrets. (Her grits and pancakes are to die for)

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkansasLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.9 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
0.6 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.0 mi away
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bisland House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Elms Bed and Breakfast
Address: 801 Washington St, Natchez, MS 39120-3565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Elms Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms is an authentic antebellum mansion bed & breakfast in downtown Natchez. Managed by a 5th generation owner, the style is personal and luxurious. One feels more like an invitee than a guest. A Southern breakfast is served in the family dining room on antique china and silverware. Located in a park-like setting and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Elms Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing