We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated to enjoy the best of Natchez”
Review of Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guest House
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Inn is in downtown Natchez, near the river, historic properties, shopping, restaurants and the cemeteries. The staff is very friendly. The rooms have high ceilings and great furnishings. The bathroom was a bit small, but well appointed. If you are looking for a place to stay that mirrors the flavor of the town, this is the place. You should consider staying upstairs. The ground floor rooms are generally quiet, but when breakfast started and we were trying to sleep late, people coming in off the street to eat kept us from sleeping. The breakfast was acceptable (eggs, grits, bacon, biscuits), but nothing to write home about. Don't miss enjoying the front porch in the evening for a drink. They have a well-stocked bar and very good, house-made hors d'oeuvres, highlighted by the tasty onion dip the night we were there. The staff was accommodating of our late checkout and we had a wonderful time.

Stayed: May 2007
2  Thank coastangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2006

What a wonderful stay!!! I recently stayed at the newly renovated Inn and I must say that this is without a doubt the best place to stay in Natchez. I learned that it was purchased this year by one of the legends in grand Southern interior design, Buzz Harper, and it is certainly reflected in the property and the wonderfully appointed rooms. I greatly enjoyed having evening cocktails in the area that reminded me of a proper gentleman's parlor as well as the fabulous made-to-order breakfast in the elegant dining room. The bed was heavenly and the room was very spacious with beautiful furnishings.
I highly recommend this inn to those seeking comfort, elegance and attention to details. I loved my stay so much that I am returning in three weeks with friends!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank CharAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Natchez Historic Inn for our anniversary this year. We had stayed at the inn before, but it came under new ownership and management early this year and we hadn't had the opportunity to return since then. I called the property directly to make our reservations. The person with whom I spoke was very friendly and outgoing, and was able to answer the questions I had about the inn and its surroundings. She also made dinner reservations for us for that Saturday night at an up-scale restaurant in town--I didn't have to call them at all.
We arrived on a Friday evening, and the place was buzzing with activity. There is a lovely sitting room with a cash bar in the hotel, and there are all kinds of snacks and appetizers available to everyone. After checking in, we spent about an hour in the sitting room and on the veranda, sipping champagne and chatting with other guests and hotel staff. For dinner, the receptionist recommended a local restaurant within walking distance which we absolutely loved.
Saturday morning we didn't want to get up because the bed was so comfortable, but we also didn't want to miss breakfast at the inn. The options were modest, but we were satisfied with the southern meal, which included eggs, bacon, grits and biscuits. (There was lighter fare, but we wanted the full experience.) We spent the morning wandering around the historic downtown district and its antique shops and touring one of the antebellum homes. After lunch we opted to be lazy at the hotel, reading and chatting in the shady courtyard, which was completely full of ferns, flowering plants, fountains, and other items of interest. That evening we went to the upscale restaurant mentioned above, where we were seated at the main table. It turned out that of the six couples at that table, three of us were staying at the same inn and everyone was very complimentary of it.
Sunday morning we made sure to get out of bed in time for breakfast. When we checked out, the staff truly seemed sorry to see us go. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank 110109l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2006

We have just returned from an absolutely delightful week's stay at this charming inn. The inn is under new management and the host, Mr. Harper, and the manager, Sharon Brown, (as well as the rest of the staff) made our stay absolutely perfect. They could not do enough for their guests. Mr. Harper is an excellent baker so don't miss his special cakes--they were wonderful. Room was always clean, attended to in a prompt manner and the bed was very comfortable. Some repainting was going on outside but in no way distracted from our stay. The courtyard was a wonderful place to have coffee, soft drinks, wine, etc. There are flowers everywhere. We even received fresh cut roses in our room one day. The gentleman who attended to the grounds even asked us if there was anything he could do for us. A nice glass of wine on the veranda made a perfect ending to a wonderful day. We would not hesitate to recommend this inn. We loved it and hated to leave. On our next trip to Natchez, it will be the Natchez Historic Inn for us.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladybug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2006

The service was good and the rooms were big (#155). The noise level outside our door and in the next room got a little high in the mornings. It's convenient, right in the middle of downtown and walking distance to all of the antique shops. There is a nice cortyard where one can sit and read on a pleasant day next to a couple fountains. It's gated and secluded (the cortyard, that is.) A nice breakfast with great coffee is included each morning.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Holland
13
Reviewed February 12, 2006

My wife and I (34 years old from Holland, Europe)stayed here for two nights, during our trip through the American South. It was a very good B&B. A very good location in the center of Natchez. Nice rooms, very friendly staff en a great southern breakfast. Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lovington, IL
13
Reviewed January 29, 2006

If you want a good mattress, clean glasses,or decent pillows don't stay here. worst b&b I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.2 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 18 in Natchez
671 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn & Gardens Natchez
0.5 mi away
Starlings Rest
Starlings Rest
#5 of 18 in Natchez
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#6 of 18 in Natchez
273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House

Address: 201 N Pearl St, Natchez, MS 39120-3240 (Formerly Eola Hotel)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range: $121 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical boutique hotel with 16 unique rooms. Located in central downtown Natchez within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing