We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Made our trip better than I'd hoped for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eola Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eola Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made our trip better than I'd hoped for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

When we got to town, we found our reservation at a smaller B&B was cancelled due to the owner having a medical emergency and we had nowhere to stay. My husband called around and finally found this Inn had a room available and the manager offered it to us at the same lower rate as the other B&B would have been. The room was great, right by the balcony. Breakfast was good and the kids loved the cake served in the afternoon. The porch, balcony, dining room and courtyard were all beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The manager went out of her way to be friendly with my kids. We had a great stay and plan to return this summer.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OedipaMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is a very pretty inn, and I think if our room had been in a different part of the building, it would've seemed quite nice. Unfortunately, our first-floor room (I think it was No. 157) had a single window that only looked out on a blank, two-story brick wall that was probably not more than 4 feet from the window. The result was a room that was so dark that it felt rather cave-like. Considering how expensive the accommodations are at this inn, the room was a disappointment.

If you're considering staying here, I'd probably suggest trying to get a 2nd-floor room and might also try asking in advance whether the room has any sort of a view.

On the upside, the breakfast was quite good, and the staff seemed nice enough.

  • Liked — The large, pretty verandas.
  • Disliked — Our room was like a dark cave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2007

The Natchez Historic Inn is a lovely antebellum home in the historic section of Natchez just a few blocks off the river. The rooms were beautiful. The home is wonderfully decorated with antique furniture. It was nice just walking around the house and looking at the furniture pieces. The room includes a full breakfast in the morning and if you consider how much that would cost, this bed and breakfast really isn't much more than staying at a good motel. Be sure to bring some wine and have a drink on the veranda in the evening. That was the best part of our stay in Natchez. We are older so we don't go for the night life that is available in Natchez. But lounging on the veranda was a whole lot better than watching tv at a motel. We will stay at the historic Inn whenever we are in Natchez. I hope you do too.

  • Liked — the anique furniture
  • Disliked — They had extra thick pillow top mattresses but didn't use the extra deep fitted bottom sheets so they sometimes untucked.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tonka11_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2007

I had my wedding at the Natchez Historic Inn in March, and let me tell you it was a heck of an experience. The manager almost ruined my wedding day and after a long involved story she apologized. The other two girls who were working there were awesome, they made up for all the trouble we had with the manager. My wedding turned out to be a beautiful day, and I am happy that we chose that spot minus the manager. The food was wonderful, and the flowers were awesome. My parents stayed a few more days and apparently the cook walked out b/c of the manager and they were sent somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sabraw4593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington. W.V.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

When reserving my room as an individual traveling with a group, we were told that the cancellation fee's were waved and that we had 24 hours to cancel as an individual. I was to arrive on Thursday June 14 and stay for 2 nights. However due to my Father's surgery I had to cancel. I called on Wed. June 13th. They refused to honor the policy they previously stated concerning cancellations. After an argument they did agree to charge me for only one room. I am out $143.50. Debbie Chapman Riggs

Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Huntington_W_V_Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2007

The Inn is in downtown Natchez, near the river, historic properties, shopping, restaurants and the cemeteries. The staff is very friendly. The rooms have high ceilings and great furnishings. The bathroom was a bit small, but well appointed. If you are looking for a place to stay that mirrors the flavor of the town, this is the place. You should consider staying upstairs. The ground floor rooms are generally quiet, but when breakfast started and we were trying to sleep late, people coming in off the street to eat kept us from sleeping. The breakfast was acceptable (eggs, grits, bacon, biscuits), but nothing to write home about. Don't miss enjoying the front porch in the evening for a drink. They have a well-stocked bar and very good, house-made hors d'oeuvres, highlighted by the tasty onion dip the night we were there. The staff was accommodating of our late checkout and we had a wonderful time.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank coastangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2006

What a wonderful stay!!! I recently stayed at the newly renovated Inn and I must say that this is without a doubt the best place to stay in Natchez. I learned that it was purchased this year by one of the legends in grand Southern interior design, Buzz Harper, and it is certainly reflected in the property and the wonderfully appointed rooms. I greatly enjoyed having evening cocktails in the area that reminded me of a proper gentleman's parlor as well as the fabulous made-to-order breakfast in the elegant dining room. The bed was heavenly and the room was very spacious with beautiful furnishings.
I highly recommend this inn to those seeking comfort, elegance and attention to details. I loved my stay so much that I am returning in three weeks with friends!!

  • Liked — Grandeur and Elegance and Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit parlor for evening cocktails
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CharAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.2 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eola Hotel

Property: Eola Hotel
Address: 201 N. Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Natchez Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical boutique hotel with 16 unique rooms. Located in central downtown Natchez within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing