We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see..a must stay in Natchez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eola Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eola Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see..a must stay in Natchez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hospitality was great. Valerie and John, the owners, are really friendly. The house is one of the highlights in town too. Located just a short walk to Stanton hall downtown. Val is doing dinner reservations as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samc_as78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The house is like staying in a plantation house, except walking distance from everything. It is clean, quiet and beautiful. We sat on both balconies; first floor and second. Coffee and tea are ready downstairs in the morning. Breakfast buffet is included at the Eola down the block, which was a plus because that is also very atmospheric. Ross is the innkeeper and knows everything about the town. They have ample parking. We couldn't ask for more. The price is similar to an 8 year old hotel nearby which is just another stay. Possible downside for some people are stairs if you end up on the second floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Guest house, is associated with Eola hotel and a very nice place to stay. Ross, the innkeeper was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. He had lots of great travel advice, including where the local speed traps lie. The room was nice and beautifully furnished and when reserving we were able to select the one we wanted. Walking distance to the river and everything downtown. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: When reserving, look at the photos, decide on a floor and pick the one you like. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were the only guests in the house and the doors were locked leaving us the only people in the house at night. We had a large room at the front of the house which was very clean, comfortable bed and decor in fitting with an old building.

My husband was woken at around 3am by people talking in the hall way although there was nobody else in the house. Creepy!

Breakfast was served in the Eola hotel across the street, both the quality of the food and the service was dreadful. I think coach parties are brought to this hotel for breakfast.

Great central location, although the town seemed deserted. Take a walk to the river and the gift shop there is an Alladins cave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuffyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This house was built around 1840 and was a great place to stay and get into the history of Natchez. There is very little activity in the house, but I found it to be quieter than I expected, clean, and very comfortable. While I was there, breakfast was served at the Eola Hotel across the street (food was good, but service was terrible). Take a little time and learn about this house while there. You'll even find a historical marker on the street corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieGoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very nice stay. Rooms beautifully decorated in old south style. Bowie's tavern on miss river great place to walk to for food and drink. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MkTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here on our wedding night in October 2008. Maybe it was because I was on my honeymoon, but it was a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was hot and delicious (and they boxed it up for us to go since we were leaving early the next morning), and the room was quaint.
We decided to stay there again for a birthday trip/belated anniversary trip last June. It was not at all as nice as we remembered. Our room was not dirty, but it wasn't what I would call clean either. The room was cheesy, for lack of a better word. Our room had a view of the courtyard area, and it was rather dirty and unkempt.
The staff was rude. Someone knocked on our door at 10 PM to ask us what time we wanted breakfast the next morning. Good thing we weren't asleep yet! The next morning, there was no one in the kitchen, so no breakfast! We ended up paying for breakfast at the Eola (a huge waste of money). The second morning, there were signs directing us to knock on the kitchen door and ask for breakfast. Breakfast consisted of eggs and toast. Less than impressed!
This place was not at all worth what we paid for it. Next time, we'll stay at Dunleith or the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farmerswife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.2 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eola Hotel

Property: Eola Hotel
Address: 201 N Pearl St, Natchez, MS 39120-3240 (Formerly Natchez Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical boutique hotel with 16 unique rooms. Located in central downtown Natchez within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing