We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Spooky Night's Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eola Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eola Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A Spooky Night's Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were the only guests in the house and the doors were locked leaving us the only people in the house at night. We had a large room at the front of the house which was very clean, comfortable bed and decor in fitting with an old building.

My husband was woken at around 3am by people talking in the hall way although there was nobody else in the house. Creepy!

Breakfast was served in the Eola hotel across the street, both the quality of the food and the service was dreadful. I think coach parties are brought to this hotel for breakfast.

Great central location, although the town seemed deserted. Take a walk to the river and the gift shop there is an Alladins cave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuffyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This house was built around 1840 and was a great place to stay and get into the history of Natchez. There is very little activity in the house, but I found it to be quieter than I expected, clean, and very comfortable. While I was there, breakfast was served at the Eola Hotel across the street (food was good, but service was terrible). Take a little time and learn about this house while there. You'll even find a historical marker on the street corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieGoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Very nice stay. Rooms beautifully decorated in old south style. Bowie's tavern on miss river great place to walk to for food and drink. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MkTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here on our wedding night in October 2008. Maybe it was because I was on my honeymoon, but it was a wonderful stay. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was hot and delicious (and they boxed it up for us to go since we were leaving early the next morning), and the room was quaint.
We decided to stay there again for a birthday trip/belated anniversary trip last June. It was not at all as nice as we remembered. Our room was not dirty, but it wasn't what I would call clean either. The room was cheesy, for lack of a better word. Our room had a view of the courtyard area, and it was rather dirty and unkempt.
The staff was rude. Someone knocked on our door at 10 PM to ask us what time we wanted breakfast the next morning. Good thing we weren't asleep yet! The next morning, there was no one in the kitchen, so no breakfast! We ended up paying for breakfast at the Eola (a huge waste of money). The second morning, there were signs directing us to knock on the kitchen door and ask for breakfast. Breakfast consisted of eggs and toast. Less than impressed!
This place was not at all worth what we paid for it. Next time, we'll stay at Dunleith or the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farmerswife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed for a weekend just to see Natchez. Perhaps we'd have been happier with the hotel if we had had a different room. The carpets were stained very noticeably, the drapes were stained and dusty, the heating register was rusty and moldy, and the bed's comforter was stained on the underside (yuck!).

Our biggest complaint, however, was that our room was directly next to the reception desk. We listened to the main desk phone ring all evening, guests talking to the clerk, and, late at night, people sitting on the couches having drinks (a bar is attached to the hotel, with the connection right next to our room's door). Our room also overlooked the courtyard of the same bar, which wasn't a problem in February, but would definitely be noisy in the warmer months. We felt lucky we visited in February.

For the kind of money we paid, we expected a clean room at least. Next time we'll just stay at the Hampton Inn; at least you expect stained carpets in the motel chains.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dragonfly1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed at the Guest House for 4 nights for our vacation. They do not cook the breakfast on the property. They haul it down the street from their other property, which is a hotel. They warm it up in a microwave. There is a small bar onsite, but it was only open twice while we were there. If you want service, you have to call the hotel and they will send someone from down the street to help you. What a disappointment this was for our much needed vacation. The carpet was dirty, the plumbing fixtures were loose or tempermental, and no service whatsoever, except for the microwaved breakfast. For $165.00 a night, we were ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TNHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

When we got to town, we found our reservation at a smaller B&B was cancelled due to the owner having a medical emergency and we had nowhere to stay. My husband called around and finally found this Inn had a room available and the manager offered it to us at the same lower rate as the other B&B would have been. The room was great, right by the balcony. Breakfast was good and the kids loved the cake served in the afternoon. The porch, balcony, dining room and courtyard were all beautiful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The manager went out of her way to be friendly with my kids. We had a great stay and plan to return this summer.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OedipaMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.2 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#4 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#8 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.8 mi away
Dunleith
Dunleith
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Starling's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eola Hotel

Property: Eola Hotel
Address: 201 N. Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120 (Formerly Natchez Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eola Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical boutique hotel with 16 unique rooms. Located in central downtown Natchez within walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Eola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing