We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Albany, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

My boyfriend picked this place as a little getaway for the weekend for us. It was more than what I expected. This place made you feel like home. The house is very old and very well taken care of. The room in which we stayed was very peaceful and well laid out. We appreciated the comfort of the bed and soft sheets. To be honest, we wished we could have stayed in bed all day. We had plenty of privacy which we appreciated. It was also nice to wake up to some of the best coffee made and a fresh breakfast with all the options. We woke up early just to drink coffee and walk the property and it was beautiful.Ms. Marjorie was the most welcoming hostess and she really made our experience that much more enjoyable. A place I won't forget, and we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Owner at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
I was delighted when I read your response as you both were such enjoyable guest! I'm so very thankful that you chose Glenfield Plantation and took the time to write such kind words about your stay here. I hope you both will be back soon to visit as it is always a pleasure to have guest like you stay with me.

Best,
Marjorie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    5
    2
    11
See reviews for
17
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a night here with granddaughters and loved the beautiful setting and the historic property. Marjorie, the owner, and her daughter Valerie and granddaughter JoAnna were very welcoming and friendly. Marjorie was full of information about the history of Glenfield as well as some of Natchez and was very charming.
The rooms are clean and decorated in an original style yet with television availability as well as air conditioning. You have to realize that bed and breakfasts are different than regular hotels to truly enjoy your visit. a nice breakfast was included as well.

Room Tip: Very quiet setting in the country except for cicadas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Owner at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
You and your family were such a delight to have stay with us. We are so glad you chose Glenfield Plantation and that you enjoyed visiting Natchez and learning of the history of our antebellum home. I do hope you had safe travels on your journey and will visit us again when in the Natchez, MS area. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is our third year to stay at Glenfield Plantation. Each time we visit it's harder to leave. Mrs Marjorie is a southern delight! We love to hear her stories of the south and anxiously await to spot a ghost. Which my sister swears she spotted one ghost placing a towel in her shower! The rooms are well maintained and offer an astonishing display of fine antiques. From the moment you arrive you step back in time. And waking up in the big antique four-poster beds has that feel of Gone With The Wind. The grounds are divine and your breakfast is filling and freshly made with a wonderful tour of the home following. You must give this lovely plantation home a go. If you appreciate history and peaceful relaxation then I suggest Glenfield.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Owner at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us again on your annual gathering in Natchez! Thank you for your continued patronage, and the recipe you shared, as I look forward to making this delicious cake! Your family is always a delight to have and we appreciate the fact that you enjoy staying here in the country and love the at home feeling you received. We look forward to seeing you again next year! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Natchez on a late Sat. afternoon one week ago and--without looking at the room FIRST--booked this B&B on the phone. It was recommended by the Natchez Tourist Information Center??? Long story short, our room had a horrific stench, the décor was hodge-podge, hardly the trappings of an old Southern plantation, and the overall condition of the B&B was deplorable. We told the owner that the room was NOT acceptable and asked for a refund, seeing as how we had just booked the room 25 min. before. She wouldn't budge, telling us that she had turned down other guests...funny, there were no other cars at the place! Other reviews posted to this site dispute everything I just said, but WORDS TO THE WISE, SEE the room before you give your credit card!!! (And don't trust the pictures you see on the website.) Not a place you want to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank GinnyC13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Owner at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are sorry that you did not find our family Bed & Breakfast to your liking. However our policy clearly states on our website we charge at time of booking and no refunds of any kind will be given. You seemed to fail to state to the website readers that your husband was a bit intoxicated at check-in, demonstrated an irate and violent attitude to the owner who is in her 80's, and drove off with the house phone and blocked in and alarmed our other guest who were staying here - when your husband got out of the car and started ranting and raving - to the point of our other guest being terrified where the police were contacted. We told your husband your business is not one we want and a refund less processing fees were given to you. I'm glad that the hotel was a better fit for you as we are a private historical home, and where one who enjoys history, antiques and culture would appreciate our setting better, as opposed to the noise and traffic of downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
447 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

You need to think a little differently to stay here. You are not looking for the chips in the paint of marks on the walls when there are historic civil war bullet holes to be found and the original paintwork is being preserved. Sure if you want that kind of 'glossed over' version of this type of stay then you can find that and pay significantly more for it, but on a budget this is a great stay amongst the faded grandeur of a once very fine home and all the history that goes with it.

As has been said in reviews before, your host is amazing and will show you round her ancestral home and I suggest you have that tour as soon as you arrive so you appreciate why the room and the house are not up to the perfect 'Hilton standards' and some areas do have a bit of a musty smell if you have a sensitive nose, but then everything in them is antique - except the bed linen which, of course, was modern.

Where this stay really scores is in the quietness of the out of town location, no annoying ice machines or elevators near your room and just the sound of the (occasional) local animals and bugs like the cicadas outside; tranquil to a tee.

Be different and give this one a go, we did and it made a good break from the usual Quality/Hilton/Holiday/Drury/Staybridge etc etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Manager at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words for Glenfield Plantation. We strive to have our guest enjoy their experience here while staying with us. Yes, a guest has to appreciate a true bed and breakfast. You must truly appreciate history and the authenticity of an antebellum home, it's historical features, and the tranquility of being in the country - yet only 1 mile from downtown. Thank you for the opportunity to host your stay while visiting the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Why would you stay ANYWHERE else in Natchez when you could spend the night in an antebellum plantation, fall asleep in a 4-poster bed to the sound of whirring cicadas, and have breakfast with the most charming hotel owner this side of the Mississippi? One night here was like Fried Green Tomatoes meets Steel Magnolias meets Gone With the Wind. Trust me on this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KR_bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Owner at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us at Glenfield Plantation. We are delighted you chose to stay with us as both of you were a delight to have in our family historic home. We do hope that your travels were safe and you will visit us again in the future. It would be our pleasure to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We travelled to Natchez for our honeymoon and this bed and breakfast did not disappoint!! Beautiful rooms, lovely service, and such helpful tips on the town. We will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smidlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
1.3 mi away
Stone House Musical B&B
Stone House Musical B&B
#1 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.2 mi away
Magnolia Cottage Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Eola Hotel
Eola Hotel
#12 of 41 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Burn
The Burn
#10 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Briars Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Glenfield Ln, Natchez, MS 39120-4757
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 150 acre Spanish Grant sits Historic Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast Natchez, MS. Escape back in time absorbing the preservation of history while visiting our beautiful antebellum home that has remained in the same family for eight generations. Prior to the Civil war, the antebellum home is built in two separate architectural periods capturing both Spanish and English Gothic style. Children are welcome and Glenfield Plantation is pet friendly. Enjoy the tranquility of our Bed and Breakfast while just 1 mile from downtown Natchez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing