We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait to Return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 41 Natchez B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thanks to my wonderful co-pilots , their ability to read maps and use of IPad, we had no trouble finding the beautiful Glenfield Plantation. Although we arrived MUCH later than we intended (the drive down the trace from Nashville was full of stops we wanted to make) Marjorie was a most gracious hostess and made sure we had everything we needed before she left us to savor the beauty and comfort of the room. We all slept well and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and conversation with Ms. Marjorie and other guests. We didn't realize a tour of the house was included and very much enjoyed the detailed and entertaining presentation. We only wished we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the grounds and B&B longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank havefriendswiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    16
    5
    2
    11
See reviews for
17
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This B&B is as close to the city of Natchez as other plantations. You drive on a county road and have stepped out of the city and into a quiet country dwelling. I usually prefer B&B places with other guests and missed that this time. We received excellent information on restaurants of our interest. Our antique furnished room was very nice with its added on bathroom. You receive a full classic breakfast. The owner is knowledgeable of the area, past and present. She is very interested in perserving this plantation for years to come.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary40314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I've never written a review on an accommodations before until now. My family and I stayed at Glenfield Plantation during the spring pilgrimage. It's an antebellum home, not a hotel, so we wanted that type of lodging experience. I did read a few of the other post on here and I don't agree with the bad reviews. Their cancellation and refund policy is on their website, and I never came across any bugs. What I did find was comfort, a fabulous home cooked breakfast, privacy, and gracious southern hospitality. My family and I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn4105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

This was the worst B&B experience my girlfriend and I have ever had. Upon arriving at Glenfield, we were greeted by a damp room overrun by millipedes. It was difficult to navigate the floor without stepping on one or more millipedes. To make matters worse, upon learning my parents weren't originally from the US, the owner told me that I could pass as "one of us" and didn't look "greasy."
As we had arrived in Natchez in the late afternoon (and didn't want to pay twice for a hotel room), we had no real choice but to stay the night. We did, however, speak to the owner about leaving the next morning and cancelling our 2nd night at the B&B. Despite having made the resevervation only 3 hours earlier over the phone, we were told that it would be impossible to refund us for the following night. Initially, the owner said she had already cancelled on several people in the preceding 3 hours, even though the rest of the B&B was empty. The second excuse was that it was impossible to change the charges made to the credit card.
We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank DC213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I took a trip to Natchez and discovered Glenfield, we are so glad we did. I didn't want to be in downtown as it was our anniversary, yet Glenfield is only 2 miles from downtown. It is located on a lot of land and just breath taking with the greenery on the patio and grounds. The rooms were spacious and clean and filled with antique furnishings. We had a hot breakfast that was so much food it was delicious! Take advantage of the tour the owner gives. She is very knowledgable and gave us great information for site seeing.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmfwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I am writing about my experience with Glenfield Inn in Natchez, Mississippi.
We planned a weekend night stay and made a reservation just several days prior to our expected night's stay but were unable to make it due to a medical emergency.
The proprietors were unwilling to show any understanding or compassion for our situation and charged for one room.
I'm writing to let potential customers know that they told me they are not a hotel and their cancellation policy is such that you will be charged if you cancel. I was not told this when making the reservation.
Therefore if the unexpected were to happen you have no level of understanding the awaits you, which seems to not be what you expect from a hospitable and friendly bed and breakfast .This just made the whole experience for us a horrible one.
It is unfortunate our experience with this bed and breakfast was negative when one expects the exact opposite from a small friendly southern bed and breakfast in a small town.

Helpful?
18 Thank southerngirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenfieldbb, Manager at Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
As you were made aware at time of reservation, we are a private bed and breakfast, and not a hotel chain. We offer a gift certificate in case of cancellation which was told to you at time of reservation. This is due to the fact that we have only 4 rooms. I find it unkindly of you to mark us with a low score based on you not understanding our cancellation policy and/or procedure when you did not even experience a stay at the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
2.0 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Natchez
Days Inn Natchez
#11 of 16 in Natchez
3.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Devereaux Shields House
Devereaux Shields House
#4 of 41 in Natchez
5.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
J.N. Stone House Musicale B&B
0.7 mi away
The Briars Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Linden Bed and Breakfast
Linden Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 41 in Natchez
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6 Glenfield Ln, Natchez, MS 39120-4757
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 150 acre Spanish Grant sits Historic Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast Natchez, MS. Escape back in time absorbing the preservation of history while visiting our beautiful antebellum home that has remained in the same family for eight generations. Prior to the Civil war, the antebellum home is built in two separate architectural periods capturing both Spanish and English Gothic style. Children are welcome and Glenfield Plantation is pet friendly. Enjoy the tranquility of our Bed and Breakfast while just 1 mile from downtown Natchez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Glenfield Plantation Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing