We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunleith

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunleith
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Dunleith is a beautiful, centuries-old home located in Natchez. We went for the Valentine's Day Weekend, a special package. The dinner Friday night was outstanding. compliments to their chef! he also cooked the best oysters we have ever eaten for the complimentary 5 pm tea in the house. The people were all exceptionally kind and helpful, especially the bellman and the workers we met throughout our stay as they went about their daily duties. it was beautiful, and it was relaxing. we thought it would be a five star stay, but a couple of things kept that from happening.

When we booked it, I was told a special meal in their restaurant, "The Castle" would be included both nights as would a complimentary breakfast buffet both Saturday and Sunday mornings. However, upon arrival, we were give our complimentary cards for only the Valentine's Night dinner and the Saturday morning breakfast. Nothing for Saturday night or Sunday morning, though the daily charge was the same. I did ask a out the Sunday buffet, but was told it was not included because it was always an expanded buffet on Sunday. I did not ask about the Saturday dinner after that.

The Saturday breakfast, served until 10 am, was a huge disappointment, especially after the terrific dinner the night before. We arrived at 8:40, was seated promptly. We had a wait for our waitress to get our drink order before we went to the buffet. First of all, it was the same buffet you can get at a Comfort Inn or lesser hotel food wise. But, they were out of biscuits, gravy, bacon, and were very low on grits. We informed the hostess and buffet wait people. Thirty minutes later, the buffet was finally replenished. Our coffee, back at our table, had grown cold. I had a pack of instant oatmeal which I was never able to prepare b/c our table waitress never re-visited us. She had at least two long chats with a larger table while we ate our other food, found a bowl to empty our cold coffee into so we could poor hot coffee from the carafe. We tried to get her attention, but she seemed to be avoiding our table. was it our complimentary card on the table that kept her away. she did not check on us one time! As we were finishing our meal, I literally had to call, "Waitress!" In a voice louder than I like to use to get her attention so we could request more hot coffee since we had only had one cup each. She seemed a bit miffed at being bothered! And the hot water for my oatmeal never appeared. A very disappointing morning!

The second reason I can give no more than three stars is that we like to stay at places with free wi-fi. It enables us to have a computer weekend visit with our grandson, even when traveling, and we like to check menus of restaurants in the towns we are visiting. We like to get online, while in that city, and check out things we have seen or places we think we would enjoy. So, one of the reasons we picked Dunleith was b/c in several places in their brochures and web page, they advertised their free wi-fi in every room. Long story short, it never worked in our rooms or in the home. I contacted the office at least four or five times and walked there three different times to tell them it did not work. Each time I was told with great cheer, "Oh, let me reboot that for you. There!" And at no time did it ever work. Had we known this, we would have chosen another place to stay. Just be honest with me. We reported the wi-fi problem again on our guests' comment card. It has been over two weeks now and we have not heard a word from them. I thought they should have knocked something off the bill for the non-existent, but promised, wi-fi. Our breakfast problem they could call personal preference, or something, but they were definitely responsible for not having the advertised wi-fi, and for not caring enough to fix it. That seeming lack of caring is why we will not stay there on our next visit, nor will we recommend it.

Room Tip: Before going, get an e-mail, guaranteeing your costs. Same for any service, such as the wi-fi, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    48
    16
    6
    6
See reviews for
45
124
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently spent one evening at Dunleith, staying in a Courtyard Room. Overall, the experience was excellent, we wish we had more time. There were several highlights, including dinner at the Castle Restaurant, free hors d'oeuvres in the main house, and a free buffet breakfast in the morning. We noticed there was a small pool which we did not have the time to take advantage of and it was probably too cold anyways. I enjoyed having a drink on the front porch which was very relaxing. I found out on the day we were leaving that all guests have access to the main floor rooms in the main house for relaxing and enjoying the house, which is a nice bonus. The Courtyard Rooms are updated but the walls are paper thin and there was a natural gas odor presumably from the fireplace. It was not overwhelming and not really an issue. The WIFI was free and you also receive a free tour of the main house. I would like to return and spend more time on the property, as this was our first time to Natchez so we spent some time around town as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffv216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Husband and I stayed on the 3rd floor of one of the rooms overlooking the courtyard. These rooms have been recently updated. Very nice amenities and everything is up to date. Personal Keurig in rooms is a nice advantage. Breakfast at the castle is not appealing (even if it is included in your rate). Tour of property was very intriguing. At night, the main house offers free appetizers along with a cash bar. Some nights include a pianist. Unfortunately we were not told about the event until it was too late.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Whilst it is a B&B and does not have all the services of a hotel this historic antebellum house was an absolute joy to stay at. We were there for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year and I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for something quite beautiful. We stayed on the top floor and the room was spacious and perfectly comfortable. It was not the most luxurious room but it was perfectly adequate for a couple of nights. This is totally made up by the ground floor which is in exceptional condition and gives you a small taste to what life must have been like to live in one of these plantation houses. There are complimentary tours of the house during the day which are really worth doing and gives you quite a bit of the history.

Breakfast is served in The Castle restaurant and pub, a 1 minute walk across a back of the house and was very good. We had dinner there one of the nights which was lovely, albeit on the pricey side.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling through Natchez.

Room Tip: Apparently there rooms on the 2nd floor are better than the 3rd. There are courtyard rooms and dair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonzales, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just spent the last two nights of 2013 at the Dunleith. We enjoyed our stay and I would stay there again. The service is good, the Castle restaurant is delicious. We had the perfect room for the four us. It had two king size beds and two full bathrooms. With four females that was important. The only negative was that it was on the third floor and there is no elevator. If you have trouble climbing steps a room on the third floor is not for you! We did fine we were ages 13 - 59 so no problem. The overall room was clean, with the exception of the blinds and the lights in the vanity area where very dusty. There was a fireplace, coffee pot and a mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MawMawSuzyOubre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Dunleith for New Year's Eve 2012 and 2013. The staff is very professional and friendly. The rooms are perfect and the amenities too. We love the appetizers and libations in the main house before we go to dinner at the Castle. We always see friends from other stares that come each year to celebrate.

I recommend Dunleith for any special occasion.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckgumbeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Dunleith is the best of both worlds. A cross between a hotel and a B&B. Their office is open 24/7 and they have excellent staff ready to meet your needs. Two men efficiently unloaded our car into our rooms and answered all of our questions. The breakfasts were delicious with something for everyone. The tour (included with the stay) of the house & grounds was also very good. I would highly recommend Dunleith even to the most finicky traveler!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LGill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Natchez hotels
0.8 mi away
Monmouth Historic Inn Natchez
1.0 mi away
Natchez Grand Hotel
Natchez Grand Hotel
#3 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#7 of 16 in Natchez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Natchez
0.7 mi away
Magnolia Bluffs Casino Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchez South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunleith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunleith

Property: Dunleith
Address: 84 Homochitto Street, Natchez, MS 39204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Natchez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Natchez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunleith 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 40 acres of woodlands and terraced lawns in the heart of Natchez, Dunleith is the perfect retreat for both business and pleasure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dunleith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunleith Plantation Hotel Natchez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing