We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern-Fried” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage House Restaurant

Carriage House Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 93 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Southern-Fried”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Great Southern home cooking in a very pleasant setting: My husband thoroughly enjoyed his fried chicken. My salmon croquettes were just like Mother made, except that Mother never gilded the lily by topping each croquette with a poached egg and aioli. The real stars of the meal, however, were the best angel biscuits I have ever eaten. The restaurant shares a building with the As You Like It silver shop where we found an amazing variety of silver patterns, sterling knife rests, and other treasures; the proprietor was delightful, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to visit with.

Helpful?
Thank ArkansasTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    85
    36
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fried chicken like none other!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Although the prices have increased since our last visit and they no longer serve their wonderful salad as a side item with lunch, the chicken, mashed potatoes and biscuits are great! Although we did not know that we liked butter peas, we had them and they were very good. As we were exiting the restaurant, we ran into the chef who was very friendly. He explained how the butter peas were prepared and how we could purchase them and the pepper jelly vinaigrette dressing that they serve. Worth a return visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank missouritourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
598 reviews
398 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Had the buffet and probably the best one I've had. Chicken would melt in your mouth and beef was magnificent. Butter beans were great. All in all could it have been any better. Don't forget the pecan pie.

Helpful?
Thank Kirby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great find in Natchez”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I were on a Steamboat Cruise up the Mississippi which stopped in Natchez. Natchez is a lovely town filled with antebellum houses and the Stanton Hall is one of the finest. It has been renovated by the garden club who have done a fantastic job. The Carrage House restaurant is on the same grounds and has also been renovated. The story is that a excellent chef moved to Natchez from New Orleans after Katrina and has made a name for himself here. It's a great venue and surprisingly large. The lunch menu was fairly extensive but my wife went for the southern fried chicken and I went for the Shrimp and grits. The chicken was typical but the shrimp and grits were unusually good. My wife made me hush because I was verbally enjoying it so much. The grits were formed into squares and fried. The shrimp was plentiful and the whole thing was covered by a very fresh sauce with pieces of stewed tomatoes and spices. The sauce was sweet and slightly spicy but the combination was excellent. Lots of different flavors that could be tasted separately or combined. They were served with sides of southern vegetables that you have to be southern to fully enjoy. but what has become popular to emulate. Desserts were also good but not great. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. I would have liked to skip the bland dinner on the boat and stayed for dinner but alas we had to leave.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great southern food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch of southern fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, dollar biscuits, and sweet tea.... Wonderful!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanato5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriage House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carriage House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing