We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal”
Review of Restaurant 1818

Restaurant 1818
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant 1818 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Restaurant 1818 you will dine in what was originally the Men's and Ladies' Parlors of the Main House. These two parlors are adorned with period crystal gasoliers. These impressive reproduction chandeliers and wall sconces were custom made for Monmouth by the artisans at Waterford Crystal in Ireland. Guests have complete dining freedom when they reserve a table at Restaurant 1818. Here guests can select menu items on an a la carte basis from the gourmet appetizers, soups, salads, entrees, and desserts offered that evening. A full wine list and wine by the glass program is available to ensure your dining experience is the very best Natchez has to offer! Private dining by candlelight is also offered for 8 to 12 people at the main dining room table.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The decor is great, the food delicious, and the service was superb. The prices were right too. There were many choices among the appetizers, entrees, and desserts so something for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank hkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    43
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
3,284 reviews
1,884 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,115 helpful votes
“Grits never tasted like this”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The new owners of Monmouth Plantation in Natchez, Mississippi, have turned two parlors into the 1818 restaurant, perhaps the best dining experience in town. Our waitress, Shirley, guided us through a menu that included everything you'd expect in the Old South. My wife had a filet of beef. I had more of an appetite--shrimp and grits, gumbo, caesar salad and gulf fish. We finished it off with ice cream. The two rooms were filled with tourists who were staying on the property and others who weren't, all testimony to the restaurant's reputation for excellence.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deinze
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Southern style cooking at its best.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

An excellent "resumé" of the Southern style cooking packed in a 5 course meal for a very affordable 52 $ . Appetizer, Soup (or Gumbo), Salad, Entree and Dessert: all of top quality served in a unique historic environment. Good selection of wines at very reasonable prices. What a chef!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonnyRDeinze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Sitting in the main house for dinner was amazing; so authentic. And they thoughtfully made a custom vegetarian entree for my daughter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Find somewhere else to eat in Natchez”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I made reservations for 2 at 1818 and received a call a day later asking if we would like to move to the Study. The study is the bar and internet access/bathroom for the hotel guest not the restaurant. We had to wait on a table cloth to be put on a table and listen to the hotel guest talking and checking their email.

We placed our order for dinner and the first course appeared and that was it, nothing over an hour and still no food. Got up left, will not go back to 1818 and when I complained the person in charge made it sound like it was my fault.. Not ever again!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1818 also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 1818? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing