We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh HELL YES!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malt Shop

Malt Shop
Ranked #21 of 93 Restaurants in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Oh HELL YES!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Malt Shop has clearly seen better days, but they still deliver soft serve the way it should be. Go here and you will be instantaneously transported back to 1977 when your old man used to take you out for a dip cone. It ain't fancy, but it sure is good. It's a Natchez legend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Plenzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude, rude, rude!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The girl at the counter was rude & extremely impatient. When asked questions about the menu offerings, the only information she would offer was, "people love our wings." We ordered wings (not great), a burger (okay), funnel cake fries (good), a chocolate malt & a caramel malt. Check total came to $19.75. The malts were delicious, but we probably will not be back to visit due to the rude service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great treats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Ice cream and shakes are awesome. Menu offerings were plentiful, including full meals. This is not a restaurant, so don't expect indoor seating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YatWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Ice cream.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent malts and vanilla cones! This place rocks for good soft serve ice cream, malts and shakes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
454 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“A real Gem, wish it was close to my home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stopped by this small shop as was passing and was blown away by one thing you absolutely must have on your bucket list - the Big Daddy Cheeseburger with everything on it. It is not as huge as it may sound, its a half pound burger and was cooked to perfection and very tasty indeed. To me a decent cheeseburger is a fine thing, and its very hard to find one these days, and getting it for around $5 was a steal. Bacon is an expensive option at 75c a slice so I would avoid that out of principal, even tho everything does of course taste better with bacon!

My wife enjoyed the wings and we both had malts which I recommend, and you can mix the flavours if you want to have a combination, that's useful to know.

Make sure you eat here when in Natchez, it is what the locals do!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malt Shop also viewed

 

Been to Malt Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing