We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Rita”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fat Mama's Tamales - MOVED

Fat Mama's Tamales
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Rita”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Loved the margaritas, the food is good but the margaritas are great...no after taste like most margaritas!

Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    112
    67
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gulf coast
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super place to eat and visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Very good Mexican food. I had the chili and chips. Everything was great. Drinks were also very good and prices were reasonable. I would recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbfree66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great atmosphere, delicious food, highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stopped in for lunch whilst spending a few hours in Natchez on a roadtrip around the southern USA. Great little place for food and margaritas (for those not driving!) Friendly staff, great food and lovely atmosphere. The nachos were yummy and my friend assures me that the tamales were awesome!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeeitSnapitShowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best tamales I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hands down the best tamales I've ever had. Also famous for their "knock-you-naked" margaritas. Very casual. Great outdoor seating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
409 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in a fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Bright and happy restaurant that serves beer and tequila only--supposedly "knock you naked" margaritas. Sorry to say I didn't have the chance to try one because it was early afternoon and we had more sights to see. Tamales were very good and so fresh. Salsa and chips were homemade and the best I've ever had! Beer was good, too. Friendly service--you order and pay at the register and they call your name for pickup.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teramo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Mama's Tamales also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing