We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture
Ranked #14 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the rich history and culture of African Americans in the southern United States.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not open!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed over particularly to visit this museum and stated hours were 10 a.m. for opening. We waited until 10:15 a.m. and no one opened and no lights were on. Sorry . . . thought it would have been a fascinating museum for Natchez history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
209 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have often gone by this museum when visiting Natchez, but opening hours are limited, so this year was my first visit. The museum has some very good exhibits; but in other sections the collection is haphazard. For example, the section on African art had hand-lettered signs and only provided the most basic information. The sections on slavery and post-war were professionally done and dispelled many of the myths of that period. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful as was the Director – I became a member of the Friends of the Museum after my visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson MS
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Museum of African American History”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Excellent presentation of the lives of African Americans of the area, both the well known and the not so well known. Many items will bring back memories for people of different races.
Our guide seemed to have an encyclopedic knowledge of and true passion for his subject - and a voice that could give James Earl Jones a run for the money!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mmc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The afro-Americans of the old south had both good lives and bad lives...”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The south could not have survived without the afro slaves...and that was proven true after the slaves were set free. The south as they knew it collapsed. Find out why. Learn about a very courageous people here.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gretchendiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans area
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Day visit”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not very big but very inforative and well worth seeing, be sure and read all the articles

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tigers1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture also viewed

 

Been to Natchez Museum of African American History and Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing