We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping Back In Time”
Review of Melrose

Melrose
Ranked #8 of 49 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of Natchez National Historical Park, Melrose is an antebellum plantation that features a slavery exhibit.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stepping Back In Time”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We loved this house as it seemed so perfectly restored to it's period. We almost didn't stop here as it was not originally on our list but as we drove past it's presence looming across the great lawn just made us make a U-turn and go back and we were glad we did. Very informed tour guides. This is a not to be missed in Natchez.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanticNHopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    87
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Nebraska
Level Contributor
139 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Melrose is maintained by the National Park Service. Have visited there twice and each time the ranger hosting the tour was very interesting and knowledgeable. The gardens and outbuildings are beautiful sight to behold.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Level Contributor
486 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nicely restored by NPS”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Worth the trip and tour to see how the "rich" folks lived in 1849. As usual NPS did a great job. Don't miss it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent tour guide Jason and beautiful home & grounds.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved our tour of Melrose. Yes it is under some renovation but does not get in the way of viewing this spectacular home and grounds. This was the only home on the tour where you were allowed taking photos with no flash of the decor and rooms. The slave quarters, carriage house and the laundry and separate kitchen quarters have been superbly kept up and well maintained. This was one of the best tours we took out of six on our tour of homes. Our tour guide was Jason from the National Park Service and was well versed in the history of the home. Loved it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sactrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A suburban antebellum mansion”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was very interesting as it wasn't a plantation mansion, but a suburban one. The tour guide did a wonderful job describing the history including the impact the Civil War made on the original owners of the house. Currently going through some renovations - but was still a good tour. Call and check for the times of the scheduled tours and plan accordingly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeffGarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melrose also viewed

 

Been to Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing