We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Example of Ante Bellum Living”
Review of Melrose

Melrose
Ranked #8 of 50 things to do in Natchez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of Natchez National Historical Park, Melrose is an antebellum plantation that features a slavery exhibit.
Rayne, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Example of Ante Bellum Living”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The house is currently under exterior restoration and will be until sometime next spring, according to the Park Service ranger who gave the tour. No access to the second floor gallery or the third floor. The interior is complete, however, and has been restored to it's period look. If you have visited lots of these homes, then it looks like many of the others in the area. Just a different history, which is the part that interests me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    87
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pet friendly site”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This one was of the few home that allows visitors to take pictures inside. My husband was allowed to walk our dog on the grounds while I toured the Mansion. This was a huge bonus for us since we were traveling with our American Pitt Bull Terrier. The tour, given by the park ranger, was very informative. There is lots of history here. The property also has several other well maintained original building that you may walk around & check out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gee2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Beautiful!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

It's like walking straight back into time!! Everything in pristine shape!! Sweet and very knowledgable tour guide (Kaitlyn). Relaxing atmosphere while waiting for your tour to begin. Beautiful grounds!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Another great National Park”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Well worth a look. I really enjoy our National Parks and they do a great job maintaining and interpreting this home. I especially liked that they addressed the issue of slavery in the South head-on and also maintained the cabins where the slaves lived. Too often, the brutal history of the Antebellum South is "whitewashed" to the point where one would think it was all Tara and Scarlet O'Hara. NPS did a great job explaining both the history of Melrose and the architectural significance of this site.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Plenzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrietta, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“enjoyed history and employees and scenery”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was the only plantation we visited due to time.
I chose it because I am interested in art.
I found the employees charming and knowledgeable.
I am glad we stopped, and my husband and I learned much.
If you enjoy art history and primitive art...or folk art... suggest it...if not, then you may want to choose another one. It is heavy on the art information.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melrose also viewed

 

Been to Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing