We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated and overrated, but ok”
Review of Hotel Ziryab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ziryab
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 1 week in mid February 2013. We booked this hotel because it was mid-priced (albeit still expensive) compared to others in the area. Arriving at the hotel is relatively easy by car. At the main/only roundabout at the entrance to the resort, take the first exit (i.e. on the right!) and the entrance to the underground carpark is 100m straight ahead. Hotel Ziryab has a direct door entrance on the same floor that you drive into the carpark on (Level minus -2). Within 24 hours of arrival, show your doorcard at the car park manned pay booth for a substantial discount over the usual 20€ daily fee.

The hotel has its own ski-locker room, but it is a 5 minute hike all the way down at the opposite end of the huge carpark from the hotel entrance, so I have no idea why reports on here describe it as 'convenient'. It is the furthest away of any of the hotels in the resort. Lockers are quite small too so fitting in 2 snowboards took a bit of jigging!

The reception and public areas are nice, old fashioned and cosy, with lots of dark wood fitting in nicely with the winter image. Contrary to reports on here, the reception staff all seemed consistently friendly and helpful. Check in was typical for a Spanish hotel (2 - 3 minutes once served). Our room was on floor minus -4 (reception is on 0, restaurant/bar/wifi-zone on minus -1, and rooms are on -3 and -4, although some on all floors. Forget thinking that lower rooms are quieter either. This hotel could wake the dead. I have never heard such echoing and noise in my life. The walls are paper thin, the floors are tiled and echo every trolley wheel and every footstep. Spanish are not known for their quiet living either! The maids (although very thorough and efficient) could use a lesson in moving and putting things down quietly. LIGHT SLEEPERS, BRING YOUR EARPLUGS!!

The rooms are rather dated and most are rather small, although they are surprisingly quaint to make up for it. Equipment is basic. There are no irons/boards in the rooms. The TV is smaller than my PC monitor at home and at such a low angle that you can't watch it in bed without using a dozen pillows to prop up your head. Mostly Spanish channels too. The shower/bath was good with plenty of hot water. The beds are medium firmness and have a good bit of spring. Pillows are those long very thin types, but you can ask reception for a more traditional type.

Breakfast was average 3 star hotel Spanish buffet (i.e. a bit disappointing). The selection is ok (hot breakfast, pastries, fruits, cereals etc) but all rather cheap quality products. The orange juice is a joke (cheap watery 'nectar' sunny-delight flavour). I read the hotel's previous response to a similar criticism when it replied that the juice is the same as in all Spanish hotels. Don't insult our intelligence! Mysteriously, the bar serves real freshly squeezed orange juice, but unsurprisingly you have to pay €3.50 for that !! The coffee wasn't much better and the water isn't hot enough to make a really good tea. Breakfast waiters were unorganised and uninterested too (i.e. don't expect them to help you find an empty table and don't expect them to rush to replace the clean plate stack when they regularly run out!)

We didn't have dinner in the hotel (thankfully!) as there are several good dining options within walking distance in the same 'lower zone' area of the resort (avoid any of the "Little Morgan" chain restaurants however, as they are dire!)

Once you reach the ski-lockers and get kitted out etc, the main gondola and another lift or two are just up the stairs/elevator and about 50m away. This is not a ski-in ski-out hotel however, so expect to do some walking. The ski pass office is about 100m from the hotel (out the front door, bear right through the main square and you'll see the ski pass office along on the left). Cost was approx 235€ for a 6 day adult pass.

Wifi in the floor minus 1 bar area was free, but is only 512k shared among everyone, so don't expect a speedy connection at busy times (during a white-out one day when the lifts were closed, every man and his dog was sitting there with a laptop or ipad). THERE IS NO INTERNET OPTION IN ANY OF THE BEDROOMS!!

The resort has typical southern Spanish mentality (meaning everyone does the bare minimum to avoid getting compaints or shouted at, but they don't go out of their way for anybody) and is not generally luxurious. However, if Andorra or France is not an option, then this is still a good resort with good skiing, efficient lifts, few queues (except at the weekend), good shops and restaurants and better value than most of France. Don't forget that there is an extra hour's light in Southern Spain, so you can enjoy the apres ski, get up at 10.00 and still have a full day on the slopes! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms from 441 - 448 will be a "little bit" quieter! Rooms in the 300's will have a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 215 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ok so this is not a smart boutique hotel but it definitely justifies it's Spanish 3* rating. The Positives: Location for ski lifts is brilliant. Excellent breakfasts (negative comments re coffee easily overcome by using the machines that prepare freshly ground coffee rather than the vacuum jugs provided on tables) and although we only had dinner in the restaurant once it was more than reasonable. Theres not a great choice of restaurants in town and so if you don't like burgers/pizzas its worth going half board. Bar prices are good, especially by Alpine standards. Bedrooms are clean and adequate but not luxurious. Direct access to underground car park (get reception to "stamp" parking ticket and pay at the kiosk on -3 floor there is a 15% discount). Superb views from bar
Negatives: Definitely not a chic stay! Noise transmission between rooms poor but as we were at the end of the corridor so not a big problem.
Conclusion: Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of corridors to limit corridor noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nohtanoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of times and It is truly a lovely hotel. The location is great for skiing, just a very short walk to the main gondola & the ski lockers are next to the elevator that takes you up to the lifts. We have only had breakfast and the food is really very good with a wide choice and all freshly cooked. Unfortunately it is let down by the drinks, the coffee that is served at the table is undrinkable ( I struggle to call it coffee at all!), the orange juice is basically orange coloured water. There are drinks available from a drinks dispenser but, while they taste better, they are tepid at best. It would be nice to think that this is a temporary blip, but I stayed here 2 years ago and the drinks were just as bad! To sum up, this is a great hotel, but if (like me) you NEED coffee in the morning plan to have breakfast elsewhere!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

we stayed here in jan 2012 what we liked the most about the hotel is the location
if you are only here for skiing this is your place to stay.
very close to the skiing spots .
the restaurant is big breakfast has a lot of variety and choices.
near most of the shops in Sierra nevada.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itameem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I realise it's a matter of taste but i'm struggling to see the 8.5 rating for this hotel, i would rate between 5 and 6 based on our experience!

I saw some prior reviews saying the staff where unfriendly, we didn't experience this, however, ''checking in'' was a bit of an experience, whatever system they use for bookings looks confusing, first they need to find the piece of paper, enter it into the computer, print some paper, get it signed,take a deposit of €115 from the credit card, took about 15 minutes, was very manual and outdated!!

We spent a thursday night there (kids had a day off), we took a room with half board for 2 adults and 2 kids, price was €307 , the room was big enough and the extra bed was a bunk , it was so small without any safety rail so we layed the mattress on the floor (safety), the TV in the room had 1 UK news channels, nothing in German or French, was all Spanish (Not good enough in this day and age), the TV was more like a computer monitor, very small (We where not there to watch TV but i guess others like some relaxation with a TV program)!

Evening meal was a buffet, was something for everyone but like most buffets lacked quality, you could certainly live with it for one night or two, however, if i knew then what i know now i would have eaten in the town, breakfast was extremely poor, you can tell an hotels quality from its juice ( was watered variety), the coffee was the stuff you buy for €2 per pack in the supermarket (like sludge), the things that looked like croissants didn't taste that way and their was only one sort of bread roll (white)!

A few positives, whilst their was no wifi in the room the one they offered in the common parts was very good , i took a seat (lobby) and my laptop whilst the kids where throwing the Euros in the pool table, their was a nice relaxed atmosphere.

a few other thoughts, rooms are poorly insulated against sound, when people where walking down the corridor it sounded like the Paris metro, you could almost hold a conversation with the people in the next room!

All in all, was ok for our short trip but i'm used to much better, i thought ''maybe'' prior reviewers where people who spent there holidays in very basic hotels but that can't be the case has they wouldn't be paying such prices!

I find the rating totally confusing but that's just our opinion!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RecepcionZiryab, Director de Recepción at Hotel Ziryab, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

We are very sorry about your opinion. We just wanted to inform you that in our breakfast we have american coffee (the one you are speaking about) but also an expresso coffee machine in two places of the restaurant. This coffee is made by yourself and is fresh ,strong and very good.
The orange juice is the normal one in all the hotels all around and in Spain except the 5stars hotels all the rest have this kind of orange juice. I have been travelling around Europe also and is the same every where .
For the bunk beds we have on disposal rail protectors but maybe you didn´t ask us. It´s on request as many people don´t like and that´s why they are not already in the room.

Related to the check in , in Spain is compulsory to ask all identification cards and also to sign the resistration paper with the price and all the details.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel several times now, always amazed at the value on offer regarding the position to the lifts, ski lockers and the quality of the food and amenities.
we stayed from 20th to 25th January 2013 and would highly recommend this hotel to all skiers.

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but clean with the essentials on hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillett5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Location is very good close to everything. Rooms are all right, with enough space and clean. Reception staff is not very much efficient. Half board is not worthwhile as it is quite expensive when you consider cost/quality offer.

Room Tip: Select a room in floor -3 or -4 as the noise will be lower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tozepinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nevada hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 12 in Nevada
784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 12 in Nevada
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel GHM Monachil
Hotel GHM Monachil
#9 of 12 in Nevada
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
0.1 mi away
Hotel Telecabina Montana
0.3 mi away
HG Maribel
HG Maribel
#7 of 12 in Nevada
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ziryab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ziryab

Address: Plaza de Andalucia n08, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nevada
Price Range: $160 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ziryab 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ziryab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ziryab Hotel Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing