We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski Hotel”
Review of Melia Sol y Nieve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Sol y Nieve
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nevada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Booked a family room which was a good size with two single sofa beds and 2 twin beds pushed together to form a double. Great mountain view from the room (124). Room was clean and well tidied / cleaned daily . There was some noise from neighbouring rooms but to be expected in a marble / tiled floor environment.
Food (H Board) was excellent, plentiful & varied with attentive staff .
Good location for gondola's with secure ski storage included. Nice bar area (Q Lounge) , with good selection of fairly priced drinks for a ski resort. Parking is expensive and cannot be added to hotel bill, but a 5 min walk out of village is 5 Euro / Day vs 24 Euro at Hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Frequenthotelstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Good Afternoon Frequnthotelstay,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our facilities and services because this is the main goal Meliá Sol y Nieve Hotel and our Company, Meliá Hotels International, and we all thank you for appreciate the hard work that all our team do every day.

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 788 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

After a gap of four years or so, we have stayed at the Melia Sol-y-Nieve twice recently - just before Christmas and for a weekend in early February. The significance of the gap is that in that time the hotel has been extended and part-refurbished and there have been some significant changes, not all for the good.
FIrst the good things: It is still in a great location, close to the action and in particular all the skiing facilities. And it is geared to skiing with a great locker room in the basement. Secondly the breakfast is nothing short of excellent. A great variety of food from the buffet as well as eggs cooked to order. The only issue is that the staff are too quick to clear plates away.
The old rooms have not been refurbished and, as others say, lack adequate soundproofing. But at least they are light and bright and have a bath (with shower fixture too). The new rooms (which we had on our 2nd stay) are larger and better soundproofed, but the dark wood and flooring, combined with the ceiling spotlights which did not diffuse light very well, made the rooms surprisingly dark. And if you want a bath DO NOT book any of the newer rooms, as they only have showers. On the whole the newer premium rooms were much better than the older ones, but it is as well to be aware of what you will gert, as the website is not clear about the differences.
As others have said, the website makes no mention of the charges for the pool and spa. Before the refurbishment there was a conventional pool, free to use for all residents. What exists now is a kind of spa experience (don't expect a pool that you can swim laps in), for which the €27 charge (plus €3.50 if you dont have your own swimming cap), is nothing short of outrageous. And if you do want to fork out for the use of the spa pool, it doesnt open until 13.00!
The other offensively large charge is for parking, at €24 per night, but at least there are other much lower priced options not far away.
So, a great location, good facilities, but all the extra costs can make a stay at the Sol-Y-Nieve quite expensive and, ultimately, poor value.
One saving grace was Fernando, the Guest Experience Manager. Every hotel should have a Fernando, as he put nearly everything that went wrong right....and where he could not sort things out himself he at least compensated for issues (so for example giving us free access to the pool one afternoon). However there is only so much apologising and compensating that one person can do - judging by my experience and that of others who have posted reviews, the management will need to look at the charges it makes for its facilities, as well as a schedule to renovate the 'classic' rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear JSM8,

What a big pleasure to read your nice comment referring your last stay with us. Thank you so much for it and for sharing it with another Trip advisor’s users, and thank you also for your words with respect me... I really appreciate them.

Our apologies for the inconveniences you found about the bathroom, spa or parking. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.

We will take good notice of all your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guests the best quality of service and product.

Once again we thank you for your recent visit and we hope to welcome you soon!

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I suppose it all depends on where you are staying in the hotel. We had an old room advertised as bright but in reality far from bright with small windows looking out on a flat roof. The room was old fashioned and small. Worse was the fact that there is no noise insulation. Neither between rooms nor to the hallways. A great disappointment was the fact that the pool cost 29 euros per person for an hour. This makes using the pool photos on their site simply misleading. On the plus side, staff were very friendly, location is unbeatable, and breakfast is very good. All in all a good hotel for families with younger children. We won't go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diederik001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear DIEDERIK001,

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Sol y Nieve we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your opinion about your experience in our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with respect to the aspects you mentioned. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned after a 2 night stay at The Level in this hotel. It's not a cheap option but we would have to say it did not disappoint and was worth every cent. The Level Lounge is very luxurious with a wide selection of drinks, snacks etc in a most comfortable and relaxing environment. The reception staff at the Lounge are extremely professional and helpful. We had full board which was very satisfactory with plenty of choice and we used the leisure centre between 1.00 and 4.00 which is free. Don't think it would be worth paying the ridiculous prices they charge to use it outside these hours. Would happily return there but would choose The Level,

Stayed: February 2014
Thank WCLADY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Thay-50,

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our the level services, you can be sure that we will report those comments to the The Level staff.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

But that's a good thing. Pay a little extra & upgrade to the Level. You will not be disappointed. 1st class accommodation & 1st class service. Great fresh food with huge choice. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: upgrade & get a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witheldno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Witheldno,

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain.

Thank you so much for sharing your recommendations with the rest of users of tripadvisor with respect to the Level rooms and the other services.

I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words,

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Spent 1st January at this overpriced hotel. I was informed that it was a brand new hotel and when my wife questionned whether it was just renovated in parts becuase the classic rooms on the internet did not look new she was wrongly informed that it was all new. The room was dirty, old furniture, no sound proofing. I had a miserable stay. My worst complaint is that I wanted to use the hotel swimming pool which the man on the phone had raved about- but was asked for 45 (fourty five) euros). I was told that I had to buy the entrance plus flip flops plus a hat so they asked for 45 euros. My wife rang up Melia to complain - to no avail. I spoke to the main reception desk. No one cared. My wife emailed afterwards to complain - no reply.

Room Tip: Do not book a classic room. If you ring up to book then listen to the fact that staff push you away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Good Morning Louise Luxembourg,

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with all our services. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan.

We take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us, we can detect the areas in which we have to focus our effort to improve our services.

We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectations,

Your sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

stayed again at this hotel last weekend. another great break here. room, spa & food not to mention the hotel's position near the lifts make it the best in the ski resort in my opinion. I have stayed at many others but they all have drawbacks I think

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando Preto ... M, Guest experience manager at Melia Sol y Nieve, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Ellen S,

On behalf of the entire team of Melia Sol y Nieve we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your positive opinion about your experience in Melia on TripAdvisor.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality. As you know it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We look forward to receive your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,

FERNANDO PRETO
GUEST EXPERIENCE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevada
0 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 12 in Nevada
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kenia Nevada
Hotel Kenia Nevada
#1 of 1 in Sierra Nevada
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHM Monachil
Hotel GHM Monachil
#9 of 12 in Nevada
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Rumaykiyya
9.8 mi away
Hotel Granada Palace
Hotel Granada Palace
#2 of 9 in Monachil
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Lodge
El Lodge
#2 of 27 in Sierra Nevada National Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sol y Nieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sol y Nieve

Address: Plaza de Pradollano, s/n, 18196 Nevada, Sierra Nevada National Park, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Sierra Nevada National Park > Nevada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nevada
#1 Spa Hotel in Nevada
Price Range: $165 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sol y Nieve 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Sol y Nieve is located at the foot of the slopes in the ski resort of Sierra Nevada, in Plaza de Pradollano, the heart of the shopping and leisure area, only 100 m from the ski lifts. Its strategic location in the centre of the ski resort and only 33 km from Granada, its excellent services and fully equipped facilities make the Melia Sol y Nieve the perfect choice for your trip to Sierra Nevada. Recently fully renovated, the hotel has a spectacular YHI SPA measuring 2,500 m2 (with charge, bathing caps and flip-flops not included), a fully equipped 24 hour gym, a modern lobby, public areas, a miniclub, games room, ski storage, 4 meeting and event rooms for up to 300 people; as well as magnificent guest rooms where you can enjoy superb views of the Sierra Nevada mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Sol y Nieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sol y Nieve Hotel Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Hotel Sierra Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing