We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, IN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very quaint and friendly.”
Reviewed October 10, 2006

The Acqua is an odd little cross-breed hotel. Very business friendly, but accomodating to high-maintenance people. We had several requests as we were getting married and needed a special check out time, directions, etc. The front desk people were great, the wine and cheese was a sweet snack, and the breakfast was plentiful. The decor is fun and the rooms are small without being too small. The location is a bit off-putting, but a view of the bay is quieter and prettier than the 101 side. I would love to stay here again.

  • Liked — The employees, decor, and service.
  • Disliked — The traffic noise was a bit much with the door open.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay on the bay side and cozy up to the front desk personnel.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank lauracro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    164
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
118
204
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ellicott city, md.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

During our recent stay in Ca. we decided to stay at the Acqua because of location and price. The pictures on the internet were somewhat deceiving. The lobby is just what you see in the pictures and the room decor is about the same but it is now a little tired and some sprucing up is in order. The biggest problem for us was the noise from the interstate. The hotel is situated on and access road to the interstate and the interstate in elevated outside the room entrance. We were awakened at 5:00 am from the heavy trucks going by. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Every evening they set up wine and cheese in the lobby for quests to enjoy, and there is lemonade, water and tea out all day. The tea water was luke warm and needed to be replaced. My husband and I took our wine out on the patio which overlooked a tributary of some river. Nice setting.Too bad the hotel didn't have a little more buffer on the other side. The bath room had a separate shower and tub. I don't use hotel tubs but it looked pretty clean . The shower however, had mold in some areas, I have problems with mold!!! there was a repair needed to the bathroom wall and the carpets were stained. We were on the ground floor so had a little patio with 2 chairs outside the sliding glass door. Would have been nice but there was no screen to leave door open for fresh air and there was a large hole dug at the end of the patio. Not sure if it was an animal or pulled up shrub! This was convenient to San Fran.,Sausalito and Napa. Highly trafficed by business travelers. Needs a few facelifts. If you stay here ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor with a balcony. some higher floor have a sliding door but no balcony. Also, ask to face the back of hotel for a nice view. Ask for directions to Pizza Antica for eats. Nice chain, may have a little wait as the place just opened recently. It is located in a shopping center with a Starbucks, Safeway and a few other shops. You don't need to get onto the interstate to get there.

Helpful?
6 Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We had the Jr. suite with fireplace. Our room view was postcard perfect. The room itself was clean, comfortable, and extremely relaxing. Can't beat it for the price!!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2006

After leaving the Palace Hotel in San Francisco I thought I wont find a place that would suit my expectations but right as I entered the Aqua Hotel all I heard was the featured zen waterfall that was so soothing to my ears, it calms you down and the decoration of the place was of tranquility. Very clean, simplicity with quality, & organized, just the way I like it. It made me feel relaxed and at peace when I entered. It really put a smile on my face and reconfirmed my decision in choosing an excellent hotel!!

The hotel is in a wonderful location very CONVENIENT to everything, only 10 minutes over the bridge and you have reached San Francisco and across the freeway following the streets to the Mill Valley village is a quaint village with many botique shops, restaurants, cafes and just a place to relax and unwind while enjoying the beautiful greenery.

The rooms are very spacious especially the oversized bathroom, and tub, with separate shower which I love!!!! I enjoy having space, lots of space. The bed is very comfortable and relaxing.

For the low rate that the hotel charges you do receive quality service and products (like the complimentary Aveda bath products & soft linens). Great Complimentary breakfast & cheese & wine in the evening at the lounge area, large rooms & bath, a zen & relaxed feeling and an atmosphere that enables you to really discover the area and feel the tranquility that it provides, FREE parking (you can't receive that in the city of San Francisco, which cost me an additional $48.00 per 24 hours), it even has a separate sitting area with a writing desk & couch - more space, and receive either a room with a balcony or patio.

The service that I really appreciate and will always remember from the hotel staff was that they honored my request of having a view with either a balcony or patio without charging me extra.
That's a great deal!!!!

In addition there are two restaurants within walking distance about 5 minutes from the hotel which is literally in the next parking lot is an Italian & Japanese/Sushi restaurant. So you don't have to go too far for dinner after traveling a distance.

All in all I really enjoyed this hotel and will return again to enjoy it and also to experience other areas in Mill Valley and the surrounding cities & parks like the Muir Woods Park since the rate is reasonable, parking is FREE, exceptional service & quality, and still convenient to everything.

Thank you and we will see you again,
Gina - Oxnard, CA

  • Liked — Large rooms & oversized bathroom & tub with separate shower. And FREE Internet access
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Tips/Secrets — You will receive your moneys worth - Excellent deal for the service & quality
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank WorldExplorer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2006

The Acqua Hotel is conveniently located.The suites and common areas are hip and stylish ,as well as very comfortable and inviting.Lovely natural light in all areas!!Service is efficient and staff is friendly.An exceptionally pleasant experience!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2006

We used the Acqua Hotel for a Bay area getaway last week. The bed is very comfortable, and we were in a little suite where our daughter had her own little sleeping area. The bathroom is spacious and our room looked out over Richardson Bay. We couldn't hear the 101 at all and it was very quiet. We would definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Riverhorse0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This was our second stay at Acqua Hotel and I would continue to return. Clean lines, zen, comfortable, great views, and helpful staff are the backbone of Acqua. Breakfast is included and filling. If it is warm enough, sit out on the terrace. Also, sip wine with your loved ones in the evening before heading out. There is a workout room and you could easily walk or jog around Richardson Bay.

The rooms and bathrooms are big. I recommend the King Suite with view for couples. It's very romantic. The hotel location could not be better. It's right off of Route 101 (don't worry about noise) and an easy drive to San Francisco and Wine Country.

My husband and I are active people that enjoy the outdoors. We recommend visiting Muir Woods, Mount Tam, and Point Reyes. There is a new restaurant in Mill Valley called Ora that is Asian fusion. Check it out for a comfortable upscale experience.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amhrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,412 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
4.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Hotel Mill Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Property: Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Address: 555 Redwood Hwy Frontage Rd, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3007
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Hotel Mill Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by elements of sky and water, the Acqua Hotel in scenic Mill Valley, California, melds stylish city sophistication with the natural beauty which surrounds it. Our location on the edge of Richardson Bay offers dazzling water views against the backdrop of Mt. Tamalpais. Guest rooms are smart and simple with a Zen-like tranquility, inspiring views and all the amenities you need to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Acqua Hotel Mill Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Resort Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing