We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Hotel in southern Marin County”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Perfect Hotel in southern Marin County”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Located right off 101which is the main artery of Marin County, the hotel looks out on the Bay. There beautiful views from each room, which are well appointed, with quality bedding and a lovely terrace with chairs overlooking the water. The breakfast is super great and is included with each night's stay. A wide choice of foods are available and the room is filled with sunlight. There is an expresso bar all day and a wine and cheese reception every evening. Also included are bicycles which can be used to ride the lovely long bike trails from Mill Valley to Sausalito. So pretty!
With easy proximity to San Francisco and all of Marin it is a super great choice! We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drdeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    164
    26
    16
    11
See reviews for
120
206
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Geneva and Rachel helped us with our stay without reservations established, recommended places to see around Mill Valley, provided complimentary wine, provided additional information, dining information nearby, etc. The rooms and provisions were excellent, hospitality excellent and would highly recommend this location. complimentary bicycles were provided for those interested in riding around Bay perimeter which highly enjoyed and advisory information about where to stay next on our subsequent stops.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Booked this hotel instead of usual chain properties for a change, and because I wanted to be close to the Golden Gate Bridge to photograph sunrise and sunset (and it is less than 10 minutes from the best viewpoints of the bridge, bay and city). The hotel sounded good on its website and these reviews, and they were spot on. Don't what this hotel used to be prior to Acqua, but wife & I loved it. Huge room with water view and bathroom that was the size of most hotel rooms, extremely comfortable bed, great night sleep. You can hear the 101 a little bit, but I can say it was not bothersome - and I am a light sleeper sensitive to noise.

Breakfast was wholesome and lots of choices, the wine reception in the evening an unexpected extra treat. Front desk staff were extremely and wonderfully helpful and informative.

Only knock on the place was the lobby absolutely reeked of a cleaning chemical or air freshener when we walked - really noticeable and suffocating. Perhaps they just cleaned the carpets and I hope that is not the common scent because it is just overpowering. Fortunately the hallways and room had no such stench!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business and I can't say enough about this hotel. It's located conveniently right off 101, however it overlooks the inlet..there are complimentary bikes to take for a ride around the bike/walking path. A great de-stresser after a long working day.

The foyer is striking with a wall fountain and soothing colors. The two women at the front desk were more than gracious. Next to the front desk is complimentary water, coffee and tea available 24/7. My double queen room was again, spacious with plenty of closet space. The bathroom was spa-like and included all EO bath products..luxurious towels and plenty of sink space. I was on the first floor and my patio doors opened up to a small, somewhat private patio area overlooking the inlet.

Breakfast is on the second floor and includes eggs, bacon/sausage, fruit, pastries, oatmeal, waffles, many beverages and local papers. If the weather is nice you are able to eat outside overlooking the inlet, however I chose to eat inside.

I find the Acqua a little oasis away from all the hustle and bustle and only a short drive into the city. It will be my new go to place to stay for any reason, when I am visiting the SF area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank suechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband, myself and our 10 year old daughter spent 3 nights in a standard king room, with a roll-away bed for her.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast including espresso drinks excellent! Clean, well-maintained older hotel that has been very nicely updated.
The free mountain bikes available to use (for age 15 years old and up) was a very nice surprise and I wished I'd have had time to take a ride.
Walking from the hotel along the beautiful bay-shore trail network was really great.
When we made the on-line reservation it wasn't apparent to us how to include the request for a roll-away so I called the hotel a couple of days before our arrival to order it. It wasn't in the room when we arrived and it was a rather long wait to have it brought up. So that was our only hassle and, given the overall experience, a minor one.
We were on the highway 101 side of the hotel so freeway noise was an issue, but not too bad.

Room Tip: If there are three of you, choose something bigger than the standard king room plus a roll-away. Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarchmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

In spite of its location, right off Highway 101, the hotel is an unexpected pleasant surprise. We stayed in a pet-friendly first floor room with pretty views over a grass lawn and the water. There were many well thought out details, from the availability of deliciously scented soaps and body lotions to the modern tasteful and clean decor. The staff was very friendly and even got out treats and a ball for our dog. Breakfast was included in the price and had an excellent selection to choose from. There is also a wine and cheese tasting available for guests every evening. We did not take part, but once again, a nice touch to make you feel welcome. If we need to stay overnight in the area, we'll definitely go back. All in all, excellent value for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubsGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Rude front desk, rude manager, average rooms. Had very noisy neighbors and complained about midnight. The manager told me it I didn't like it check out, so I did. The front desk reception was unfriendly upon check in, it seemed a bother. I will avoid this place next time in mill valley.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkaspar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N, General Manager at Acqua Hotel Mill Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
If we fall short of an expectation, our team is willing to do whatever possible to remedy the situation. Many of our team members have spent most of their professional lives assisting others, in hospitality. We're in this profession because we find it gratifying, it is a passion. My strong reaction was due to a serious verbal assault on one of our team members that was in no way deserved, or reciprocated. For my strong reaction, I apologize. I cannot however, be held hostage, and allow such behavior for fear of a negative review. Kind regards, Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
2.9 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
984 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Hotel Mill Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Hotel Mill Valley

Property: Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Address: 555 Redwood Hwy Frontage Rd, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3007
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Hotel Mill Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by elements of sky and water, the Acqua Hotel in scenic Mill Valley, California, melds stylish city sophistication with the natural beauty which surrounds it. Our location on the edge of Richardson Bay offers dazzling water views against the backdrop of Mt. Tamalpais. Guest rooms are smart and simple with a Zen-like tranquility, inspiring views and all the amenities you need to make your stay perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Acqua Hotel Mill Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Resort Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing