We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and very comfortable room”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed at the hotel recently for a weekend getaway to go hiking near Muir Woods and Mt. Tamalpais. We couldn't have asked for a better location as our room looked out on a lovely lagoon and bike trail with Mt. Tamalpais in the background. It was easy to get to the trails from there, and in the evening, it was only a 15 minute drive into San Francisco! The check-in was relatively quick, although the desk clerk was a little spacey (yet very sweet). We found the room to be average size, but the bed was very comfortable! Firm but padded mattress...very easy to fall asleep.
The breakfast was average--liked the oatmeal. But the best part was the Carmel Valley Roasting company coffee--wha a delightful and delicious surprise!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shallot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    264
    95
    43
    21
See reviews for
230
231
35
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Cons: The front desk seemed very disorganized, distracted and slow (even though I was the only one there). We were put on the first floor, "pool side" room. Turns out they have a big fence around the pool and I was basically staring right into a wall. I was rather disappointed she didn't put us in a better location since the hotel was really quite empty.
The continental breakfast is really just a continental breakfast. Very basic. I guess I was spoiled by other hotels. But it was included in the price of the hotel.

Pros: The pool/spa area is great. I think it's brand new. My kids loved the heated pool and the water is actually really warm. Funny thing is, the pool water was actually warmer than the spa!! I thought my kids were just joking around until I tried it myself.
The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. There is a little refrigerator which makes it handy when traveling with kids.
The hotel is on the Bay Trail (3-4 mile long bike trail). I went on a very nice run in the morning.
The free wifi works!!

All in all, aside from the reception and the location of the room, I would come back again. Especially with the rate I got on expedia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamaanjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I travel to San Francisco frequently and usually stay at Fairmont or other 4-5 star hotels. This time around, I opted to stay in Marin Country particularly out of consideration for a childhood friend whom I was visiting after 44 years and lives in the area and offered to take me around in her car during my stay.

While the Larkspur hotel is nowhere near the quality of the other hotels I stay at in SFO, I must say that overall, I found Larkspur Mill Valley a nice hote and a good valuel. My room was small, but clean and well-appointed, my pillow-top king-sized bed felt very comfortable and nice. The large, wall-mounted flat-screen TV has a great picture, though it keeps going off and on frequently, my room was bright and airy with a balcony and a sliding glass door, the hotel offers free wi-fi connection anda good amount of drawer space for clothing, although the closet space is very small. In addition, the light/ventilator combination in the bathroom tends to be a bit too noisy.

The hotel offers an adequate complimentary continental breakfast, the staff was always attentative and polite to me and there was nothing objectionable in their conduct toward me. Despite being on te main road, the hotel is well sound-insulated ad quiet. I only wish there'd be a safe deposit box in the room, so I didn't have to carry so much junk with me on my outings!

Larkspur is a small, 2-storey hotel and has no elevators, but I did enjoy my stay at this hotel, particularly because of its proximity to beautiful cities of Sausalito and Schooner Point as well as San Francisco.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We chose this hotel for its proximity to Muir Woods and because of the post-renovation discount offered on the hotel's website. It is located on the outskirts of Mill Valley, close to the junction of 101 and 1 and near an estuary with walking trails. Despite the nearby roadways, it was very quiet. We were given a room overlooking the pool. The rooms are really well appointed; you'd never guess this was once a Holiday Inn Express. The beds are incredibly comfortable, among the best I've ever slept in at any hotel. There was a huge flat screen TV and DVD player in the room. Bathroom was attractive and included upscale lotion, shampoo, etc. There was also a small refrigerator and microwave. Rooms have small balconies with rustic tables and chairs. Iron sconces light the grounds. The gardens in the interior courtyard surrounding the pool are lovely. There is a heated outdoor pool and hot tub which we all enjoyed. The breakfast area was unusually spacious and pleasant as was the variety of food offered - yogurt, fruit, and bran muffins in addition to the usual breads and cereals. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_place_unlike_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2010

This hotel has just finished extensive upgrades. We were attracted by the discount offered as an incentive for people to come and see the improvements. We chose to pay a small extra charge for a room with a mountain view. Our room overlooked the back parking lot, and was on the back of the building facing away from the road. It was very quiet.
Larkspur has made extensive renovations. There is a large flat screen TV, new carpeting, new drapes, and the room had been carefully painted.
A continental breakfast is included. We enjoyed good coffee, fresh fruit (apples or bananas), a choice of hot or cold cereal, bagels and muffins. The breakfast area was large enough to accommodate several guests, unlike the breakfast area in some motels we've been in.
Check in service was quick and professional.
The free internet service was easy to connect to. Just be sure to ask for your password when you check in.
The bathroom counter area is small, and barely adequate if you have to recharge something. The supplied toiletries were nicer than average, and were a generous size. Towels were thick, and a good size. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionysus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Because this hotel was previously a Holiday Inn Express, could be reasoning for the previous bad reviews About this hotel. I am proud to say that my nights sleep was fantastic! The beds and room amenities could not of been better! Thanks so much Larkspur!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2009

It took me ages to find the hotel as my TomTom insisted on taking me to the other side of the coast. 20 miles and an hour later I found the place and the receptionist said they have complained to both TomTom and Google because their directions to the hotel are way off. Fortunately I arrived mid afternoon so I could find my way. The TomTom route took me up hill and down dale with some sharp inclines, hairpins and sheer drops. Very scenic during the day but I can imagine this would be very dangerous if attempted tired in the dark. So beware. The hotel is a few miles from Sausalito which is a lovely town with a great view of San Francisco. I got a refurbished room on the second floor overlooking the water and freeway. The room was very nice, modern and clean with a 40" Philips LCD screen with a DVD player and all the AV inputs you need including a USB charger. By the look of the public areas the non refurb rooms might be a bit grim. Overall I would stay here again. The walk to Sausalito took about 45 mins each way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
544 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,403 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
819 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing