We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern hotel close to public transportation to SF etc”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Reviewed May 27, 2014

First off, this is a very clean and newly renovated modern hotel. You can check out bicycles to ride around the nice paths nearby, or roast smores at night by the outdoor fire. There is a restaurant on premise as well as a couple great options within walking distance. The staff were all friendly, and there was hot coffee, and a breakfast option in the AM.

If you are like me and fly into SFO without renting a car, this is a GREAT location for using public transportation. A major bus stop for the area is a short walk away. To get here from SFO, you can grab one of the Marin Airporters that come every 30 minutes for $20. The walk from the bus stop to the hotel is about 5 minutes. WAY cheaper than a cab and more convenient than public transportation. If you want to get to Sausalito, its a couple dollars and a few minutes on the bus. Sausalito is a great place to grab food/coffee etc. From Sausalito you can take an enjoyable Ferry ride to the Embarcadero in downtown SF.

If you want to go see Muir Woods, there are shuttles most weekends and holidays that will take you there. Or you can do what I did and take the 61 bus up Panoramic, then hike the Dipsea trail into Muir Woods. A great hike IMO.

So whether you are looking for a less expensive option than downtown SF (conference in town when I went everything was sold out or $700 plus per night), or looking to enjoy beautiful Marin county, I would definitely recommend this location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the Holiday Inn Express in Mill Valley on Trip advisor. We do take all guest comments to heart. We are glad to read that you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer and its proximity to San Francisco. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 723 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

a very good experience...it's a H I Express, so pretty much as expected facility/foodwise...the surroundings make it a 4 instead of a 3...good food ops next door...we did not eat there but the Italian restaurant next door comes highly recommended...

Tip: go into the town of Mill Valley (3 miles, or so) for lots of cool restaurants all on the main street

Room Tip: get an upstairs room facing the sound...if you are a walker or runner there is a really cool boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Deat ldf123,
Thank you for taking the time to post your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and its location. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I stay here whenever I visit my daughter in Sausalito. The bus to and from the airport stops across the road. Rooms are average but breakfast is well-stocked and has variety.there was construction going on last time but should be quieter now. Great restaurant attached to building.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footinagym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your hotel experience at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley on trip advisor. We are glad to read that the location is ideal for you. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was remodeled recently. The hotel is aesthetically appealing. If you are a light sleeper or don't wake up early in the morning this is not your place. I was staying at the hotel while moving. I was exhausted. I was awoken with doors slamming close starting 7 am. The hotel rooms are off a hallway. The doors close automatically and are very loud. The breakfast is mediocre. The front staff very friendly. Nice pool. I would give this hotel a 4, because of the noise in the morning a 2.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thanks for your recent stay with us Jacqueline! We appreciate your business and the recent review of our property. I apologize for the early morning noise that woke you. Sometimes guests are not as considerate of others as they could be. I do appreciate your positive comments about the hotel. I look forward to having you back with us sometime and we will make every effort to put you away from any entrances. Thanks again Jacqueline!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My gf and I recently stayed here for a few days and were glad that we chose this hotel. The price was reasonable compared to it's competitors and it also included breakfast, which was an unusual bonus.

The room was of a decent size and well equipped with a fridge and flat screen TV. Everything was clean, modern and everything worked without any problems.

The view from breakfast was pleasant looking out onto San Francisco bay. The breakfast itself was fine, but not exceptional.

The location was ideal, within a few hundred yards of the 101 freeway on the road into Mill Valley.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Mark,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your guest experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read you found the location and the complimentary hot breakfast to your liking. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As the title, this is a perfectly acceptable choice when visiting Mill Valley. The hotel is not in the charming part of town, but it is clean and affordable and the service is pleasant. Breakfast is a bit bleak if you're looking for healthy food, but it is free, so there you are.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley on Trip Advisor. We do take all of our guest comments to heart. I am glad to read you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and sorry you missed the turkey low fat sausage, granola, yogurt, oatmeal and fresh fruit. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I lived in SF/Marin county for over a decade and we wanted to see SF and Marin county in one week . Out last trip we stayed on nob hill and yes it was beautiful but it was very expensive , as all SF hotels are. Parking alone was $50/day...this trip we decided to give the Mill Valley HIExpress a try . We loved it . Fifteen minutes to Muir Beach or SF! King room with a perfect view of Mt Tamalpais for $179. Free good breakfast and free s'mores by the fire pit nightly . Buckeye Roadhouse across the street, best food in Marin (make a reservation!) Gracious staff and a peerless walking and biking path along the waters edge . Free bikes and coffee as well, comfy hammocks and lovely pool area. We are natives and we know where to go so this was a perfect choice and less than a third of the usual price. Go for it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Suzanne L.,
Thank you for the kind comments about your recent stay. We are glad to read you enjoyed all of the complimentary amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,551 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
891 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range: $149 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing