We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well equipped hotel in a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean, well equipped hotel in a very good location”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My gf and I recently stayed here for a few days and were glad that we chose this hotel. The price was reasonable compared to it's competitors and it also included breakfast, which was an unusual bonus.

The room was of a decent size and well equipped with a fridge and flat screen TV. Everything was clean, modern and everything worked without any problems.

The view from breakfast was pleasant looking out onto San Francisco bay. The breakfast itself was fine, but not exceptional.

The location was ideal, within a few hundred yards of the 101 freeway on the road into Mill Valley.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your guest experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read you found the location and the complimentary hot breakfast to your liking. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    254
    92
    41
    21
See reviews for
220
221
34
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As the title, this is a perfectly acceptable choice when visiting Mill Valley. The hotel is not in the charming part of town, but it is clean and affordable and the service is pleasant. Breakfast is a bit bleak if you're looking for healthy food, but it is free, so there you are.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your experience at the Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley on Trip Advisor. We do take all of our guest comments to heart. I am glad to read you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and sorry you missed the turkey low fat sausage, granola, yogurt, oatmeal and fresh fruit. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I lived in SF/Marin county for over a decade and we wanted to see SF and Marin county in one week . Out last trip we stayed on nob hill and yes it was beautiful but it was very expensive , as all SF hotels are. Parking alone was $50/day...this trip we decided to give the Mill Valley HIExpress a try . We loved it . Fifteen minutes to Muir Beach or SF! King room with a perfect view of Mt Tamalpais for $179. Free good breakfast and free s'mores by the fire pit nightly . Buckeye Roadhouse across the street, best food in Marin (make a reservation!) Gracious staff and a peerless walking and biking path along the waters edge . Free bikes and coffee as well, comfy hammocks and lovely pool area. We are natives and we know where to go so this was a perfect choice and less than a third of the usual price. Go for it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Suzanne L.,
Thank you for the kind comments about your recent stay. We are glad to read you enjoyed all of the complimentary amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel outside San Francisco. Great if you have a car. Free parking and 20 mins to city centre. Clean rooms and nice friendly staff. Would stay here again next time. Much better than an city hotel where they charge 40 USD pr day just for parking.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Thomas Z,
Thank you for taking the time to post your hotel experience on Trip Advisor. We do take all guest comments to heart. We are glad to read that you enjoyed to location and it proximity to San Francisco. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, close to Muir woods and golden gate bridge. Really no issues. Snores for pit is great for kids. Close to good restaurants. I will stay again if in the area. Staff was good. Breakfast was typical and average.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank satoronto_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dar santoronto_12,
Thank you for taking the time to post your hotel experience on trip afvisor. We are glad to read you enjoyed the hotel, location all of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alturas, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing! The desk clerk called five minutes after we got there to make sure everything was up to our satisfaction. Smores every night by the fire, heated Pool, spacious hot tub, free bike rentals and hammocks outside our doors. Everything was clean and quiet. State of the art fitness room, and the breakfast was out of this world. It was hot eggs and sausage with pancakes. Who could ask for more at this hotel. I highly recommend this place. One of the best places I have ever stayed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank iamsparkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Iamsparkl,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. We do take all guest comments to heart. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and all its amenities. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel due to its proximity to Muir Woods. While the rooms are nicely decorated and the grounds nicely appointed, our rooms smelled of mildew, we were greeted with attitude by the front desk staff when we requested help with our television, and the grounds were littered with cigarette butts and beer bottle caps. At $170/night, we expected much more than we got.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shampooguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Shampoo Guru,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We do take all guest comments to heart. I apologise that your stay was just "ok" as we do try hard to make every guest experience memorable. I will review your comments with the team here. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
3.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing