We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cold room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you're just visiting this general area, you can't beat this location for the price. We used this place because we were visiting people in Mill Valley, but found it was only minutes from downtown San Francisco (because my GPS decided to bring us in on the most complicated yet scenic route). As well, it's at the starting point for the #1 Shoreline Highway north - a beautiful drive. And, as others have mentioned, you're on the water and the walking/cycling paths are right there.

Our room was renovated and nicely laid out and the beds were very comfortable. We faced into the pool area, which was very quiet at this time of year and shielded us from the noise of the nearby bridge.

The breakfast was OK, with the usual cereals, scrambled eggs, and bacon, etc. Our only complaint was that the room was bitterly cold when we arrived and it took over 6 hours of "high heat" from the heater to get it up to livable temperatures.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kashic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your hotel experience on trip advisor. We do take all guest comments to heart. We are glad you enjoyed the location. We do apologise for the excessive time it took to heat your room. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 723 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is a winner. We arrived at 9 pm & were delighted to be offered 's'more packs' to take to the fire pit. Score. Waking up the next morning to discover the hotel was right on a bike path by the water (and bikes available at no cost)….score again. Add a decent breakfast & a great manager, and this place is worthy of a return trip. Highly recommended if you are in the area to explore Muir Woods.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent visit to the hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the S'mores, bike path and breakfast. Thank you again for your business and feedback. We do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a seminar and was there for four nights. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was okay, at least there was a selection of fruit. The smores served to be made by the outside fire were nice. Overall perfectly adequate comfortable clean hotel with friendly staff. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was there during a cold spell and a room by the end of the hall had a strong draft so I switched.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ksmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on trip advisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and will return. Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel over the holidays, the hotel is nice, very clean and the staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the free bikes and the pool. The only thing missing in the rooms are safes.
The front desk has safety deposit boxes but they are not big enough to leave an Ipad or a laptop computer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 88Love_to_travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear 88Love to travel 88,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. We do take guest feedback to heart. I am glad you enjoyed the outdoor heated pool and complimentary bicycles we have at the hotel. I am sorry the safe deposit box would not fit your lap top. Thank you again for your feed back and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location and value stay. So close the Golden Gate bridge and the hotel and nice amenities to include bikes to use for free, a nice breakfast and smores packs for the night time. I would have given the hotel an excellent rating if our bed was not old. The rest of the room seemed to have been renovated and upgraded (very nice TV), but our king bed seemed like it was going to fall apart once we laid down. Very soft and unbalanced. But other than the bed, everything else was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank in2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. It is through comments such as yours that we can truly improve our operation at the hotel. I am sorry about the King bed issue you encountered and we will do what is needed to remedy the issue for the next guest. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel! We do look foward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I worked with Julie at the Holiday Inn Express, Mill Valley, to reserve a block of rooms for New Year's Eve to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had planned to attend an event in Mill Valley that night with about 20 friends. We live in the South Bay and had never been to Mill Valley before so were unfamiliar with the area. The hotel was approximately one mile from the concert venue which was perfect for us!!

Julie was extremely helpful and nice, sent me all of the information on the room block, and reminders right before the block was going to expire.

We ended up with 16 total in our party staying at the hotel and everyone had a great time!! Thanks Julie for all of your help to make my husband's birthday a success!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Mill Valley/Marin area.

Room Tip: The walls and floors are thin so if you are a light sleeper you might want a room on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank California_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the great job Julie did with your group. We are truly fortunate to have great team members such as Julie, work at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer. We are happy that we were able to be part of the 50th birthday celebration! Thank you for your feedback and business! We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is an older property that has had renovations that demonstrate an interest in maintaining it. A few items need upgrading but overall a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and hospitable and made my stay enjoyable. Location can't be beat with a view of waterway, Mt Tam, and adjacent to walking and exercise trail. I would definitely return.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank DigDox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location and that the staff took good care of you. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
560 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,555 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
891 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range: $148 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing