We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location and value stay. So close the Golden Gate bridge and the hotel and nice amenities to include bikes to use for free, a nice breakfast and smores packs for the night time. I would have given the hotel an excellent rating if our bed was not old. The rest of the room seemed to have been renovated and upgraded (very nice TV), but our king bed seemed like it was going to fall apart once we laid down. Very soft and unbalanced. But other than the bed, everything else was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank in2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. It is through comments such as yours that we can truly improve our operation at the hotel. I am sorry about the King bed issue you encountered and we will do what is needed to remedy the issue for the next guest. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel! We do look foward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    256
    94
    42
    21
See reviews for
222
225
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I worked with Julie at the Holiday Inn Express, Mill Valley, to reserve a block of rooms for New Year's Eve to celebrate my husband's birthday. We had planned to attend an event in Mill Valley that night with about 20 friends. We live in the South Bay and had never been to Mill Valley before so were unfamiliar with the area. The hotel was approximately one mile from the concert venue which was perfect for us!!

Julie was extremely helpful and nice, sent me all of the information on the room block, and reminders right before the block was going to expire.

We ended up with 16 total in our party staying at the hotel and everyone had a great time!! Thanks Julie for all of your help to make my husband's birthday a success!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Mill Valley/Marin area.

Room Tip: The walls and floors are thin so if you are a light sleeper you might want a room on the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank California_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the great job Julie did with your group. We are truly fortunate to have great team members such as Julie, work at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer. We are happy that we were able to be part of the 50th birthday celebration! Thank you for your feedback and business! We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is an older property that has had renovations that demonstrate an interest in maintaining it. A few items need upgrading but overall a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and hospitable and made my stay enjoyable. Location can't be beat with a view of waterway, Mt Tam, and adjacent to walking and exercise trail. I would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DigDox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location and that the staff took good care of you. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is right off the main road outside of Mill Valley. The room was clean, but could use some updating. The bed was comfortable. The included breakfast was adequate, not exceptional. The hotel offers free bikes to use. There is a nice walking path adjacent to the parking lot. The location is also near Muir Woods and Sausalito. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibfinetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your recent stay. We do take guest comments to heart in the effort for improvement. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stay here at least twice a year as our base camp for hiking in the area. This hotel has been through different managements over the last few years, but the amenities and service has been the same. All of the rooms are great, but if you can get lucky and get a room with a view of Mt Tam, go for it. Very clean, s'mores and a fire pit for after dinner, breakfast is the usual continental. They offer bikes and I recommend going out for a ride or just a walk on the bike path directly in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room with Mt Tam view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your hotel experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel location and all the amenities we have to offer. Thank you again for your business and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I've reviewed this establishment before and my opinion has not changed! Actually, it had gone through several names in its transition to the HIE and I was concerned that it would change in character (not for the good), but I think it actually got better. I find it a convenient and very friendly place. Joann, who often works the front desk when I arrive, is a real card (and that's a good thing). The setting is great as it overlooks a spinoff of SF bay. It is conveniently located near the 101, but without the noise, and the restaurant next door is always a nice stop.

OK - you should be aware of what not to expect - it is not a new/high end facility as it is an older facility -- the rooms are of older design. Nonetheless, they are clean and comfortable and nicely sized. Breakfasts are very nice - no need to go elsewhere.

Overall, I've rated this place highly based on the balance of good things about it. It is a nice place in a location convenient to many attractions, and without the SF prices. BTW, if you want to send time in SF, drive or get a cab to the ferry at Sausalito -- no worries about SF traffic, parking, bridge tolls and the ferry ride is scenic and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyGolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for being a repeat guest of the hotel. I am glad to read that you have seen the improvement. We do our best to make sure every guest has a great experience. I will also share your comments with Joanne. We are quite fortunate to have her work for us. Thank you again for your comments and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel was a little bit dated but there was something nice about it. The worst thing was that there were not a lift but still two floors. The brekfast was nice and the staff was great. For that reason I must but 4 stars, but for building I would give only 3.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear JPDH2,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed the staff and the complimentary hot buffet breakfast. I also would like to share with you that we will be getting a elevator sometime in the beginning of 2014. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,365 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
289 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
799 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing