We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in Marin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in Marin!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel has gone through so many changes of owner it's surprising that the quality isn't affected, but it actually seems to get a little better each time. Very clean, down-to-earth, fresh feeling. They have bikes you can rent and there are paths that take you along the shore - -be sure to get back in time for the free S'Mores!
The breakfast area gets very crowded - -best to sit outside or eat in your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Trip Advisor. I am gald to read that your enjoyed the hotel. We have been through some changes in the last year or two but I am glad you felt thoperation has improved as it is our intent. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    270
    96
    43
    21
See reviews for
241
234
35
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very close to Sausalito, Mill Valley Village, and Golden Gate Bridge to San Francisco. We were able to drive from the hotel to Marina Green in SF for the sailing races in about 10 minutes. There is also good bus service into the city. The hotel is right on the bike and walking path that goes to Tiburon or Sausalito. Great area. Hotel has the usual Holiday Inn Express breakfast, but there is an outside patio with a fireplace adjacent to the breakfast room. Rooms are well-appointed with good fridge and nice bathroom. Free WIFI.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your hotel experience on trip advisor. I am glad to read you felt that the location was ideal for your trip. I am glad you enjoyed the walking trails and all that Marin County has to offer. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarissa, MN
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great beds, clean, quiet, convenient to HWY 101 for trips North or South. The breakfast-BEST I've had in a hotel in a long time. I couldn't have asked for a better place to spend 4 nights! We didn't use room service or spa, so I could only rank them as average.

Room Tip: We were in a double queen, poolside. The noise from the pool or the HWY didn't bother us. I real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your receent posting on Trip Advisor. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel location and the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for your business and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding nearby, and got a good deal on the hotel. There are a lot of amenities: breakfast included, outdoor pool and whirlpool, even smores on the porch! The room was big with a little patio. We had a couple of friends staying with us and had plenty of room. Definitely a good option if you are in the area!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stellastar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on trip advisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the amenities and the ever popular nightly smores around the firepit. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Members of my family and I recently stayed at the Mill Valley Holiday Inn Express. We were there for a wedding. The rooms were spacious, the breakfasts were good (although the breakfast room got pretty crowded during our stay), the staff was courteous and the location was excellent. We were half way between the town of Mill Valley and Sausalito, right off Highway 101. The Golden Gate Bridge was less than 10 minutes away and there was a terrific hiking/biking path available for exercise - and they had free bikes for use by guests. The venue provided good value in a high rent district. The only down side was that the room was not cleaned until mid-afternoon on most of the five days of our stay.

Room Tip: You might prefer a room overlooking the bike trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryJoTarallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. We generally do not clean stayover room early in the day. We have check out room which we do clean first so that if a arriving guest desires to check in early after a long day of travel, we can accomodate them. In the future please lest us know you require early service and we will be happy to accomodate. Thank you again for your business and I am glad you enjoyed the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Bikes were available for the trails. Breakfast was a nice start to the day. But the best part was the customer service! When Nick heard we were on vacation and planning to spend the day in San Fran, he got a map and suggested places to go and things to do. That was extremely helpful! When we said we were looking for a dinner spot, the lady behind the desk (I'm sorry- I didn't get her name) gave us a list of area restaurants. They seemed to anticipate what we needed before we knew we needed it! Just an awesome staff! Thank you all very much!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Las S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know about your hotel experience. I am glad to read that Nick and his front desk staff provided you with excellent customer service. We do try our best to insure you have a memorable experience. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great value Hotel, just minutes from San Francisco . The Hotel staff really make this Hotel different, they were so helpful and friendly. Rooms are big and very clean, breakfast was busy but kept well stocked with food. Only stayed one night so didn’t get much time to explore the area. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the smores at night time for the kids to make at the outdoor fire pit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skull0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffery D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your experience on trip advisor. I was glad to read that you felt the staff want above and beyond to take care of you. We have a great team here at the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon and thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
552 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,459 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
848 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing