We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have fond memories of the things we got to do in Mill Valley in and around the hotel. I liked the variety of small amenities, from continental breakfast, nice television, fire pit with s'mores kits, bicycle and helmet rentals on site, many bike trails close by (run right by the hotel property), clean pool and jacuzzi. On-site restaurant is ok. The hotel is close to downtown Mill Valley too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linoaktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Glad you could make it over to Marin for a quick getaway . Nice to know we are in your backyard, so to speak! Please do come see us again should you be in our neck of the woods! Thanks for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    254
    92
    41
    21
See reviews for
220
221
34
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed three nights here and had a very nice time. It's just a few miles from San Francisco, very comfortable and the price was reasonable. The rooms are clean, quiet and the bed was very comfy. The pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing as well. Good free breakfast and the pizza at the restaurant next door was tasty and not to spendy.

Would for sure stay again for the value, cleanliness and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abrown62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking a few minutes from your schedule to tell us about your stay. We really do appreciate your comments and are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit. We do hope that should your travel plans bring you from beautiful Oregon back to Marin, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Larkspur and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It's conveniently located to Stinson Beach and Muir Woods which we visited one day. The following day we drove to Pt. Reyes Natl Seashore and hiked the elk reserve seeing many elk with huge racks and prolific wildflowers. We had a king superior room overlooking the bay which was very modern with the added convenience of a mini-fridge, coffeemaker, a comfortable chair for reading, a balcony (albeit tiny) and a very good complimentary breakfast. We took advantage of their free bicycles and biked along the path to Sausalito, only 2 miles to the edge of the city. You can also walk to a wonderful restaurant called the Dip Sea which has many Greek dishes, a bright cheery atmosphere, reasonable prices and GREAT food. The hotel is a good family place as it has a very nice pool area and complimentary smores in the evening over the fire. Oh! and the beds are very comfortable to boot.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the bay have a nice view from the tiny, tiny balcony (room for one hair &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to share your comments with our readers. You have also made our job much easier as you have covered all of the wonderful amenties of the hotel and the area in your review.
Summer months bring in many travelers who take full advantage of our pool and spa, the hiking trails, Muir Woods and Stinson Beach. Your comments are very appreciated and thoughtfully expressed. Hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you to beautiful Marin County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This Larkspur property is a great place to base your family! We stayed for a weekend to visit both the city and north bay area. It was extremely clean, stylish and the continental breakfast was nice. The beds were very comfortable and good quality linens. We also had a hard time getting the kids out of the pool! Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foothillschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to comment on your stay. Always a pleasure to read when families enjoy their stay with us..... Especially that they enjoyed the pool! It is such a great amenity to have. We do hope to see you again in the future should your plans bring you back to Marin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Tried out this hotel after a friend recommended it. Was not disappointed. Though initially, by looking at the facade of the hotel facing the highway, it looked so-so (blame the other motel across the road which looked rundown), but when we entered the lobby and saw the hallways and rooms, and the fact that most of the rooms faced the inlet (away from the highway), our impression changed for the better.

Our room faced the inlet, and it was quiet and relaxing. We often had the balcony door open, and the sound of the birds outside was nice. We didn't expect the room interiors to be modern (flat-screen TV).

The breakfast selection was ok and decent. They lacked hot food though. It was more of oatmeal and cereals and toast. Wish they had scrambled eggs.

Requested for late check-out at around 130 PM and they agreed - nice.

Try to get a room facing the inlet. Waking up to that view is relaxing, with the mountains, the water, the people biking, walking and running. You could even have a light workout (run or walk using the paved trail right by the parking before or after having breakfast).

Though it's alarming that there is sign posted near the balcony door to always lock the door when leaving the room - I guess due to burglaries in the area? Scary thought, though I felt safe in the area. But then it is common sense to lock all doors when leaving your hotel room.

One letdown though was the housekeeping schedule. We left our room one day at around 7 AM and came back at around 1 PM, expecting the room to be cleaned. But it hadn't been cleaned yet. They should hire more staff to clean the rooms.

Oh, and they don't have an elevator so be warned (for those with large luggage and bags). And the rooms don't have ample sound-proofing so you can hear the noise by the hallway - not good for light-sleepers (like me).

If I'm ever in the area again, will stay here definitely.

Room Tip: Choose room that faces the inlet/water. If you have a large luggage, don't get the 2nd floor (NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to compose a very comprehensive review for our readers. You mention so many important pieces for other travelers enabling them to make more informed choices when choosing an accommodation. We always do our best to accommodate the needs of every kind of traveler to give them the most relaxing or active stay. Whether just relaxing poolside or taking in a bike ride or hike in Muir woods, it's all available to our guests. Our continental breakfast is designed to give everyone a healthy start to their day by providing the most essential items to get you fueled for your day. I do hope we see you again should your plans bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A quiet little hotel with great service. I had to change my reservation twice (to split it for a side trip down to Paso Robles) and the staff was extremely accommodating and patient. The room was clean, quiet, and had all that we needed. We enjoyed the simple breakfast offering each morning -- just right for us. This place was ideally located for all we wanted to see in northern California.

Room Tip: There is no elevator at this hotel. If you don't want to haul your bags upstairs, ask for a gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share a bit about your stay. I'm happy to hear that you had a quiet, peaceful stay and appreciated our "little hotel". Our staff always appreciates kind comments about their service. They do work very hard to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. I do hope you stay with us again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Mill Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here between our stay in Napa and a night in the city. It was on the way back from Armstrong Woods and Bodega Bay. It was perfect for what we needed. The hotel has been remodeled and the rooms and property was very nice. They had free bikes and a nice free continental breakfast. I don't know that I would call it the perfect spot to vacation. But being about 15 minutes from the city, it was a great base to get to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkspurMV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to comment about your stay with us. We couldn't agree more! We are perfectly positoned and often refer to ourselves as the base camp for many of the area attractions, wine country, Muir Woods, Stinson Beach and only a short 15 minute drive to the city. And who wouldn't want to cross the Golden Gate at every opportunity! Hope too see you again on your next trip to beautiful Marin County!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
3.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing