We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel and free bike rental perks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel and free bike rental perks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We found a good deal on travelzoo for this gem.

The hotel feels very new, the room is very clean though not too spacious. Loved the setup in the room esp the big TV mounted on the wall. The hotel provide breakfast, which is fabulous, it's more than the usual muffins and breads, there's yogurt, boiled eggs, many tea choices and fruits.

We especially love the free bike rentals, about 2 hours but the hotel staff is very flexible about the duration if the hotel's not crowded. Biking trails are aplenty, and very accessible from the hotel ground.

Check out the really nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi! Loved the shaded huts for couples, comes with 2 beach chairs and curtains - makes changing clothes such a convenience! The jacuzzi water is hot enough but the jet power isn't that strong, hopefully it'll get fixed soon.

We would LOVE to go back again and enjoy the hotel facilities...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane Aw Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    247
    88
    41
    20
See reviews for
213
218
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was our first stay since they renovated this from the Holiday Inn and we enjoyed our stay. However, as other reviewers have noted, though the lobby area and outside got a nice facelift, the rooms are still fairly standard hotel rooms. We had the basic King room and it was smaller than several comparable rooms we've stayed in. The beds were nice (and there are different sorts of pillows though my husband found none of them comfortable) if unremarkable. It's all pretty basic hotel furnishings and more business suited than anything cutesy or romantic, and the new paint jobs and tile in the bathroom looked a bit sloppy. We did enjoy the historic area photographs displayed in the rooms and hallways. Also, when we told the staff it was our anniversary they were happy to give us a slightly better view (of the parking lot toward the wetlands and Mill Valley vs. the freeway views) and even sent up a bottle of champagne so that was a nice touch. Note that the "balcony" that comes with the standard room is only big enough for one chair and small table so if you and your traveling companion plan on balcony time you'll want to check into upgrades. The breakfast is fairly standard but definitely adequate. We did not make use of the bikes that are available for guest use but the bike trails go right past the hotel so that would be a good option for people interested in that service.

Overall, for our $119 we were satisfied. If you have more money to spend the Mill Valley Inn is certainly more upscale and romantic. But, for a comparable price, we preferred the rooms at the Best Western Novato Oaks but that is farther up the freeway. For a close base to Stinson Beach and San Francisco, Larkspur Hotel in Mill Valley is a solid choice. You're only about fifteen minutes from Muir Woods, too, and we highly recommend getting an early start and being there right when the park opens to avoid the crowds or missing out on parking and having to take in the shuttle (bleh); staying in Mill Valley makes that easy to do.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaT95682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is fab place to stay they have free bikes, breakfast and very comfortable rooms and very attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Bought a deal off of living social. Yes, the do have bikes and smores kits, etc, but everything is still inside a hotel that looks very much like a holiday inn. They didn't put enough into remodeling it and the location is really poor, right off of the busy street. I was disappointed. It was work the 99 dollars a night, maybe, but definitely not a penny more.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Very close to San Fran. Easy 10 minutes across bridge into downtown/tourist core. Not a lot of restaurants obvious closeby. Use your GPS to find them. Great biking walking trails outside your door. Great heated pool for the kids with a surprisingingly cute deck area. The smores were the highlight for the kids as were the free dvd's. Very comfortable beds. Heated bathrooms floors were surprising. Very safe and quiet. No stores within walking distance. Safeway 5 minutes away by car. Fridge in room. Very close to Muir Woods too which you should not miss. Go when they first open to avoid the busloads of tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuskokaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

My husband and I went to California for our honeymoon. We decided to visit the Muir Woods and spend a night at the Larkspur Hotel in Mill Valley for the night. It was the best decision we made! The lady at the front desk was super friendly and offered us shots of a vodka mixed with organic juices. It was sooo good! The bed and the pillows were super comfortable and the view of the mountains made our stay even more relaxing. They offered bike rentals and free breakfast. To be honest, of all the places we stayed in CA, I enjoyed this hotel the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahG1735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Spent 2 nights here last week to kick off a drive down the coast. We've previously stayed in town in everything from 2 star budget motels near Fisherman's Wharf to 4 star "luxury" for conferences near Mosconi. This worked out great for getting into town and especially for experiencing Mill Valley, Sausalito and (new to us) Tiburon. The motel was quiet, well appointed and a great value overall. We've never enjoyed San Francisco as much (guess we need to be able to get out)

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
0.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
3.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Address: 160 Shoreline Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-3610 (Formerly Tam Woods Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What will you do today in Mill Valley? Each day is a new adventure at Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley, located in scenic Marin County. Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area sits against a breathtaking backdrop near the base of Mount Tamalpais, overlooking peaceful wetlands and bike paths. Natural beauty shines in our Mill Valley hotel, which grants access to some of Northern California’s most visited attractions including the Golden Gate Bridge and San Francisco, and the renowned Napa Valley wine country. After an adventurous day exploring the bustling city of San Francisco or the beautiful outdoors of Marin County, relax by the outdoor pool under a private cabana. Borrow a bike from our Bike Center and pedal along the nearby bike paths or roast marshmallows around our outdoor fire pit. Or stay in with the family and watch a DVD from our movie library in one of our newly redesigned guestrooms. Featuring modern, convenient and thoughtful services and amenities designed to keep you comfortable, well rested and entertained, Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area provides the ideal home base for those looking to experience the vast playground that is the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sausalito
Holiday Inn Mill Valley
Mill Valley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing