We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminiscent of a upscale motel”
Review of Mountain Home Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of a upscale motel”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I have to say, from the website pictures and descriptions, I was expecting upscale rustic. What we got was upscale motel. The bathroom was large but extremely dated. The bed was about as soft as a piece of plywood - and after hiking all day, a really uncomfortable bed stands out!. And for the price, I expected a lot more out of the decor - think Colonial Williamsburg meets 1980's. However. the room was large and the deck, although run down, was nice. The food was really above average - but the prices were a bit out of whack for what you get. The view was amazing. But, I was hoping for more for the money. PS (all you rugged sports fans and cable tv junkies out there....there are no tv's :-) ).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhcrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    16
    14
    9
See reviews for
23
85
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The amazing vistas atop Mount Tamalpais is enough to draw visitors, but the service and accommodations at the Mountain Home Inn are the icing on the cake. I booked this inn for my husband's birthday due to his love of hiking and the redwood forest; despite some negative reviews on service and value. The Mountain Home Inn greatly exceeded my expectations. We stayed in Room 2; The Wildflower Room. The website stated it to be small, but the room was spacious enough to feel like a cozy cabin in the woods. True enough the room is not large, but the glass doors leading out to the deck let in plenty of natural light making the room seem larger. The private bath was immaculately clean (something which personally decides my decision for a future stay). The tub was wide enough for soaking though a bit short for my 6'2" husband. The pedestal sink accommodates only one at a time, but adds charm. The room itself is simply and rustically furnished which also adds charm and a cozy feel. Our room also had a wood burning fireplace with wood and kindling provided. What set the room apart where the little touches, such as votive candles ready to be lit and a clock radio/cd player loaded with a romantic new age disc. (and if you don't like this particular choice in music) choose from a good selection of nature sounds. The bed was truly comfortable, but be aware down feather pillow if you're allergic. The service and staff were equally impressive. The staff was friendly and attentive. We came in late from dinner in Mill Valley and wanted to enjoy a hot beverage. Though the Inn's restaurant was just closing, the evening host was gracious in fulfilling my request. I ordered the hot cocoa which came with fluffy fresh marshmallows (not the dehydrated kind). Our host even offered to help me carry the hot cups to our room. My husband and I sat out on the deck sipping our hot drinks while we gazed up at the night sky and took in view of the lights around the bay . The cooked-to-order breakfast which is complimentary with the room was excellent. The breakfast potatoes where cooked to perfection and a great compliment to the french toast and veggie omelet we ordered. Served out on their deck, looking out among tree tops and the view of the bay, there is no better way to enjoy a good meal. I've tried to be as specific at possible to dispel any negative reviews. The only drawback, if it is one, is there was no television in our room; though the inn does have WiFi. The Mountain Home Inn is a wonderful place to relax, spend quality time with your sweetheart or family, and enjoy the beauty of nature. Access to trails leading to Muir Woods is just across the street with a choice of easy or moderate hiking trails. We hiked for just over 3 hours making a loop from the Alice Eastwood Trail (paved road) down to Muir Wood and taking the Ocean View Trail (moderate) back up to Panoramic Hwy. I highly recommend the Mountain Home Inn and will return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Up in the mountains - very beautiful setting with great views off the balcony. Food was surprisingly good, and the bar was handy, since there's nothing much around there but houses. We hiked down from the front door into the woods in the morning, which was a nice walk, but we got a bit lost. It's not a cheap place to stay, so make sure you are going for relaxation or for the view. Staff were quite helpful, even lighting a fire downstairs for us when it got a bit chilly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franc0phile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had some delays getting to the Mountain Home Inn and arrived quite late - past when they would normally have locked up - but our host Bryson had stayed late just waiting for us and was very gracious in helping us settle in. We got a glass of wine from the wine bar and some dinner. Everyone was courteous and friendly; and breakfasts (included) were delicious, views awesome, hiking is literally right out the door, and the place is (usually) very quiet. The downside is that this once-lovely inn is now very tired looking and badly in need of maintenance. Carpets are worn out, wood finishes are rubbed off, the light switch on one side of our bed was broken, the heater in our room hummed all night even when off, and the room had a moldy smell to it. Rack rates here run from $200/night up, which is way overpriced for a place in this condition.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pickycouple8261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We picked this because of its great location near Muir Woods. That was a definite plus. However, the must-y smell of our room was a huge turnoff the rest of the stay. The deck and the jacuzzi tub were good, and it appears this room has been updated since a previous review critiqued this same space. However, the dank smell is apparently still there. In addition, the service was less than hospitable ... not exactly rude ... but for the price we paid, we expected more. In the future, we'll stay farther away, pay less money and be OK with driving into Muir Woods.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank More-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

dropped by on Aug 13th whilst driving through the valley and mountain on a day out from SF on our recent west coast tour. Views are stunning, host was friendly and chatty and even though we didnt have time to eat ( the menu looked good) - he didnt charge us for the soda we drank as we sat out on the deck watching the world go by.....thats not to say that its free to everyone! ...so drop by ..say hello to him for me and have lunch ( pay for it of course!)
Ill go back some day for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for a night in the beginning of may and we found the accommodation to be really comfortable. The room was huge with a wonderful rustic charm. The fire place was great as well as the deck. Hiking trails right across the street that go into Muir woods and the views are breathtaking. We took a short drive and hiked up a gorgeous waterfall in the area called Cataract Falls... the restaurant at the Mountain home Inn is warm and the food is die for... Our host was great too, Thanks wine recommendation "Paul Mathew, Valdiguie" if I remember correctly.. so tasty with that mouth watering sirloin.. In the morning we had a eggs Benedict.. Yeah, we still talk a lot about the great time we had at the Mountain Home Inn...good times for sure

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChainMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
3.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
6.4 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
7.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Inn

Property: Mountain Home Inn
Address: 810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing