We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a wrong turn and had a fantastic suprise!”
Review of Mountain Home Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mill Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Mill Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2013

While trying to get to Muir Woods we took a wrong turn and ended up at the Mountain Home Inn on Mount Tamalpais. What a great gem to find! We decided to have lunch while overlooking a stunning view. The staff and food were great. It was a bit pricey but understandable. I recommend everyone visiting Muir Woods take the time to visit the other side of the range. The Mount Tamalpais drive was breathtaking and the view from the top was stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeaBab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 152 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Wow, I had high expectations for my 5-year anniversary stay here, and they were well-exceeded! Both the rooms and the staff here are really, really exceptional.This place is way up in the mountainous redwoods, I mean waaaay up in nature! We got a late start from our home in SF, and arrived in the early afternoon to this cozy little inn. The desk host was showing another room, but Bryson came over from the bar and took care of our check-in. He gave us a free upgrade, but let us see both rooms first so we could compare them.

We wound up in the California Room (#1), which was decked out with a "raw" looking 4-post bed frame, wood fireplace all set up to use, oversize jacuzzi bathtub, and a view the peered out through a flock of redwoods with a little view of the hills of the North Bay. It was like living in the world's most upscale tree-house. Really large amount of space as well.

We went out later on for a celebratory anniversary drink, and were offered complimentary champagne! The bartender recommended we watch the sunset across the street from the hotel, which looks down into the valley of Muir Woods. It was like the end of a good romance movie. Then we headed back in, the sun not quite down yet, and mentioned we had delivery on the way. The person at the desk offered to receive it for us and sent us back out on a short but beautiful hike up the hill past the fire station. This was also just perfectly romantic.

The breakfast in the morning is very good for something included in the price. The best part isn't the food, its eating out on the deck and sipping coffee while you look down over a forest and all the little towns of Sausalito, Mill Valley, and out to San Francisco.

I used to work at a hotel in the North Bay, and know that hotels here are very expensive, whether they're amazing or mediocre. Honestly, this was worth the high price we paid for it. I could not have asked for better service, and the room was just what I wanted. My girlfriend hella loved it, too. Thanks to everyone at MHI who made this a really special stay for us.

Room Tip: While you can hike many places from here, don't expect this to be like downtown Mill Valley. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aregenerate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you are going to be in the San Francisco Bay Area during the month of June, take a day trip to THE MOUNTAIN PLAY on top of Mt Tam in Mill Valley. This year is it's 100 year celebration, performing a delightful version of the Music Man in the large stone amphitheatre on the mountain. Well organized, with shuttle busses to and from downtown Mill Valley, or a spectacular walk down the hill (6 1/2 miles) with outstanding views of SF Bay. For the past several years we have been stopping at the 4 mile mark and spending the night at the MOUNTAIN HOME INN, a charming little place with excellent views of its own. The inn has become an upscale destination for hikers, situated on Mt. Tam, and has a very fine restaurant with a fixed prixe menu (3-course @ $38/person.) A perfect day is a picnic at the Mountain Play, hike down the hill, and an overnight stay and dinner at the Mountain Home inn. Mill Valley is only a 15 minute drive from SF, and it is a charming town in its own rights. Check out the Mountain Play website for information about the play.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at Mountain View Inn last weekend and was underwhelmed. It came recommended by a Mill Valley resident, and I booked a room for two nights because it was convenient to where I needed to be. The staff was pleasant, and the meals (dinner one night, breakfast the next day) were good. But the room was in dire need of repair. The hair dryer was broken, the housekeeper took away my shampoo and didn't leave a replacement, and the bathroom tile was cracked. At the end of the day, chairs were dragged over the floor above my room, creating a noise I could do nothing about. Mountain View Inn has been around a long time and many reviews cite the same complaints that I have. Still, the accommodations remain average while the rates remain high. I don't understand it. I wouldn't stay there again until reviewers report that these issues have been fixed.

Room Tip: I was in Room #4. The bed was comfortable, but when I sat outside on the deck, diners on the upper l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handcar, General Manager at Mountain Home Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

To Margaret Miller,
We are glad you were able to enjoy the food , the service and off course the view from your room deck.
At the same time, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced , as well.
We wish you had brought them to our attention, so we could have resolved at least some of them during your stay.

We are continuously working on upgrading and refreshing the Mountain Home Inn, and
room #4, the room you stayed in, is scheduled to be re-tiled at the end of spring.

For a more quiet and secluded experience we recommend staying with us from Monday-Thursday.
Especially the winter nights in a fireplace room can be a great writers environment.

Thank you for staying at the Mountain Home Inn, and please thank your friend for recommending our hotel as well.
We hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are visiting from texas.
Thank you,
MHI Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I wanted to be able to hike in the morning and night so was looking for a convenient location for lodging. Mountain Home Inn is located in a great spot and the food (breakfast complimentary and also had prix fixe dinner there) was quite tasty. The service was friendly and the bathroom actually opened up to the room so you can enjoy the view. Note that there are no TVs and you could hear your neighbors pretty easily through the walls. The furniture could be upgraded to look more modern but it is what it is. Overall great experience and would definitely consider coming back next time I'm in the Bay area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After a nearly 20-hour travel from Finland to California and five wonderful but hectic days in San Francisco, we thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful and comfortable stay at Mountain Home Inn, its beautiful views and fresh air. Unfortunately we had time only for one night, we'd love to return one day and stay for a bit longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannaHs48800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Mountain Home Inn many times. The cons are that it is needs updating/renovating and is a little tricky to get to (that drive up Mt Tam through the fog is a little frightening but worth it). The pros are: great food, incredible views and very cozy rooms some of which have fireplaces and patios. The Muir Woods natl forest is literally across the street with trailheads steps away. The southern part of the winecountry is a 50 minute drive and Stinson beach is around the corner. We will be there again this week and can't wait!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mill Valley
3.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
562 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
6.4 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
901 reviews
7 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,563 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Inn

Address: 810 Panoramic Hwy, Mill Valley, CA 94941-1765
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Mill Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mill Valley
Price Range: $174 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Mill Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing